Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | January 16, 2010

Bringing Cheer to my Apartment: Parts I and II

I decided to do a few things this year that would bring a little more cheer to my life here at grad school.  They are small steps that are already improving my mood greatly (except for that other night.  But let’s not talk about that).

Part I: A Roommate

Ehn

Please, move the camera away. Oh, okay, fine.

Comfortable

Sleeping like this is sooo comfortable

Duke is my 7 year old tabby cat who has been with me ever since his mom decided our house would be a great place to have her litter.  Shortly after Duke and his siblings were born, Duke’s mom ran away and didn’t come back.  At the time, I was working at the local veterinary clinic.  Thank goodness.  We were supplied with plenty of kitten formula, and lacked a couple hours of sleep for a few weeks.  Of course, they were adorable little kittens, so we were okay with it.

Anyway.

I am really glad that Duke is here with me because he likes to curl up next to my feet when I’m sleeping and he provides me with plenty of giggles during the day.

Part II:  Brighten up

My apartment is fabulous, because we are allowed to paint the walls.  Twenty bucks for a gallon of paint and supplies meant that my options were endless.

Preparation

Blank slate.

I found the perfect shade of happy sky blue, called “Isle of Capri” by Behr.  It was super easy to apply and didn’t give me a terrible headache while I was painting.  Fabulous.

After painting one wall, I decided I needed a few more bursts of color throughout the apartment.

Bedroom

I painted this section without moving the bed. Because I'm awesome.

Part III:  Coming soon…

I can’t wait to show you my next step in this project!

What’d you do this weekend?

Responses

  1. Love the blue walls! I’ve always felt getting away from the 100% white walls of my childhood will be a big step toward adulthood ha. And your kitty is adorable :)

  2. I love the blue… I wish I could paint my walls, but it’s a no-go according to our landlords. Oh well. Maybe someday. I’d like to paint a huge mural on my wall, actually. Someday…

  3. KITTTYYYYYY!!!!! :)

    Duke looks very happy to be home. :)

    Also, I love the blue. The more I look at it, I can see it’s a bit different than my blue… but I sort of love that we both have blue in our apartments. :) More proof that if/when you move back to Chicago we have to be roommates! :) (hopefully my girls will play nice with Duke…)

    • Also. that was a lot more smilies than I realized…

  4. The blue looks fabulous! And it brightens it up a lot.

  5. Elena – I know! I felt very grown up painting an apartment all by myself.

    Brooke – Dude. I bet a wall mural painted by you would be amazing. Someday I’ll have a house, too. And I’ll pay you to paint a wall mural.

    Rini – Yesssss.

    Mandy – Thank you! I love how cheerful the color is.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

