Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | February 8, 2010

Floral frustration

Alstroemeria

Last week my former classmate sent me a text message; her former floral shop was looking for extra help for Valentine’s Day and she thought I’d be interested.  I was.

Two days after receiving her message I went to the florist and created two designs at the spur of the moment.  They were filled with spider mums, cheerful carnations, delphinium, bright liatrus, roses, and tulips.  I hadn’t designed a floral arrangement in so long–the last time I designed was my friend’s bridal bouquet in June.  And I hadn’t created a professional vase arrangement since I created a design for display at the president of the university’s house.  The pressure was nerve-wracking.  I fumbled with the scissors and I was over-thinking every action.  It was a mess, but I thought that the two designs that I had created were still really good.

I went home exhausted from the whirlwind of the interview.  It was refreshing to use my fingers and creativity, but I had been out of practice.  I wanted so badly to have just one week of roses and ribbon.  Lilies and fingers that smell like flowers even after being washed.  After all the research paper assignments and 30-page articles I needed this.

I didn’t get the job.

The boss called me the next day and said they decided they didn’t need to “use me” this week.  He told me that I should work on fine-tuning my design skills.  And that perhaps I could help out for Mother’s Day.

I was crushed.  I had never been told that my design skills were lacking.  It was a big blow to my creative confidence.

Sigh.

So I did the only thing that I knew would make me feel better.  I brought home a bundle of Peruvian lilies from the grocery store and made a big mug of hot chocolate.  I’ll finish my research proposals with these cheerful little flowers sitting on my desk and it will be okay.

Responses

  1. Bah.

    The best experience anyone creative can have is someone telling them they suck. It’s the only way to effectively do two things:

    – take the experience and use it to get even better.
    – formulate a defense of your sensibilities and power on, confident that someone was wrong about you.

    Usually the best stuff emerges from a healthy balance of those two endeavors.

  2. i’ve always wanted to try floral arrangements, but i have that looming fear that i wouldn’t be good enough or do a job they wanted done a different way. i’m not willing to spend tons of money on school for flowers, either, so i guess i’ll just move on.

  3. I’m sorry you didnt get the position. I had to google the names of most of the flowers you listed. I am sure they were really pretty. =)

  4. I should have responded to your email, but I’m lame and I didn’t. I’m really sorry you didn’t get the job. But maybe it’ll turn out that Mother’s Day will be a better time for you to help out anyway, since it’ll be less stressful with school and everything. Just a thought. Miss you!

  5. I ditto Derek’s “Bah.”

    … You’re doing any and all flowers that I’ll ever need! :)

  6. I fear what I would create if I had to do an arrangement on the spot. I’m sure you did a great job.

  7. That’s so lame!! But I’m with Derek, just shore yourself up and barrel forward. And show them up soon =)

  8. I’m sorry lady. But I do like that you took it in stride with buying more flowers!

  9. Yeah, I think Derek really covered what I was going to say. But it also sounds like you _know_ what it’s like to put together an awesome arrangement, and all that’s left now is practice, practice, practice.

    And you know what? I hear Spring is coming up soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

