Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | October 8, 2010

Mopping at Midnight

While it has really only been twenty-six days since I last saw The Boy, sucking back tears as I sat alone in the DC terminal, it feels like so much more time has passed since I was in the same room and same time zone as my best friend.

I am too excited to sleep, and so I am prepping (read: voraciously cleaning) the apartment for his arrival tomorrow later this morning.

As I swept the hardwood floors of my apartment, I grumbled about all the cat hair that just seemed to be everywhere.  I don’t understand how it happens.  There must be some scientific report that proves that a roommate’s pet sheds more than your own pet.  It probably has really boring line graphs to go with it and everything.

Or maybe it can be explained simply by the fact that this is the first time I’ve lived with two cats in one apartment.

Whatever.

There is cat hair everywhere.  It’s not a big deal to me, but it’s certainly an issue when my boyfriend visits.  He is allergic to cats, and I hate hearing him sniffle and cough after being around in the apartment too long.

So, like I said, in my anxious state of “OMG-he’s-gonna-be-here-tomorrow-I’m-too-excited-t0-sleep”-ness, I did what only made sense to my sleep-deprived brain.

I started sweeping and mopping at midnight.

While I swept away the cat hair and mopped up the dust, I started thinking about things.

Many of us can probably make a nice grocery list of qualities we would like our future Misters to have.  Tall, handsome, witty, kind… these lists can go on and on.  And many of us could all write another list of things that would be deemed as “deal-breakers”:  smoking, alcoholic, lack of motivation/passion towards life, [insert your pet peeve here].

But what about the things that you would offer up for the one you love?

As I emptied the dustpan filled with cat fur and bits of kitty litter, I realized that I would gladly give up ever owning a cat again to be with C.

That might not sound like much, but realize that it’s coming from the girl who grew up in the country with more cats than she had names for.  This is coming from the girl who worked at a vet clinic for two years, certain that she would one day save the kittens of the world (meh, whatever, I’ll save the world from bad landscapes instead).  This would be a big deal for me.  But for him?  Worth it.

What about you?  In a culture that so often sets limits upon others, what would you be willing to let go?

What could you sacrifice for love?

 

* * * *

Unrelated, but yet totally related: I am slowly letting go of my aversion to sci-fi shows.  C and I have started watching Firefly and I am absolutely hooked.  Love makes you do weird things, you guys.

Responses

  1. I gave up smoking cigarettes to be with the man I love.

    Also, Firefly is a good show and after, you should definitely check out Battlestar Galactica.

    I never watched sci-fi shows either until my boyfriend came along.

    Love works in mysterious ways. Have a great weekend with your man. :)

  2. There! See! I told you BSG would be a good show to watch after firefly!

    Love,

    The boyfriend

  3. I would probably be willing to give up having dogs in the future. Because I’ve made a commitment to the one I have, I wouldn’t give him up. Fortunately, the one I have is relatively allergy-friendly so it might be something that could work.

    Another thing I’d be willing to give up is some of my alone time. I spend a lot of time alone and usually like it, so this would be a bit of a sacrifice, especially in the evening hours when I like to unwind by myself.

    There are probably more things I would be willing to sacrifice for the one I love, but I can’t think of them right now. I’ve never been in a relationship, so I’m sure there are lots of things that I wouldn’t even think of now that I’d have to give up or compromise on.

  4. I’ve given up a lot of my bed space since I got married.

    And Eric actually posessed one of my “dealbreakers” (granted I didn’t know about this until AFTER we were married…one of the pitfalls of getting married after only three months of dating) but I realized it wasn’t really a dealbreaker after all. And when you’re in love–there isn’t a whole lot you aren’t willing to put up with. But at the same time–you also realize there are some things NOT worth sacrificing. give and take…


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

