Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | November 30, 2010

The Curls

The Curls

My mother has the straightest hair that genes can provide.

And then I was born.  She had no idea what to do with The Curls.  Oh, The Curls.  She tried brushing them, which is a rookie mistake.  Then she just cut my hair shorter and shorter.  Another mistake.  Finally, she gave up once I entered junior high and my hair was in a permanent pony tail.

The girls with the straight blonde hair and the wavy brown hair mocked me.  “Why is your hair so weird?”  they would sneer.

By 8th grade, my curls turned into the ringlets that I am more familiar with, but it was still a nightmare to maintain them.  Everyone started to coo over my “new” curls.  I endured them begrudgingly.

In high school, I let my hair grow and grow and grow.  I don’t know why or even how I dealt with it, but I did.

Enter college.  My high school boyfriend broke up with me, so I did what any girl would do in that situation:  I chopped it off.  Ten inches of those curls disappeared.  A classmate stood in shock when he saw me and whimpered, “But…why?”  It had to be done.

I have since tried several other hairstyles for my curls, but it has remained a battle.

There are times when I love my hair.  It is funky and different.  It is the Lovely Anomaly.

But lately I have felt weighed down by my hair.  It overpowers my tiny, lithe frame.  It screams for attention while the rest of me wants to hang out unnoticed.

C adores my hair, I know that.  And others pine for that naturally-red, naturally-curly look that would cost more than I’d ever dream of spending at a salon.  My friends say they couldn’t ever imagine a version of me without the curls, and to an extent, I agree.  I can’t fathom having anything other than The Curls, but lately I feel like this hair just isn’t me.

When I look in the mirror, I feel lost in the ringlets of my hair.

How can I become untangled?

Responses

  1. You could literally put my picture there instead of yours and everything (except your boyfriend’s name) would sound exactly like me! I too have chopped off inches and inches of hair in the name of rebellion against heartbreak and we’ve already lamented about the other woes of growing up with curly hair. Go get a blow out! Have it straight for awhile and change it up. I would just warn against doing anything permanent. You never know when you are going to feel like curls again ;)

  2. If you feel that your curls are overwhelming your tiny frame, I think the only solution is to eat eat eat and fill out the tiny frame. ;)

    (P.S. In case you didn’t know, you’re beautiful just the way you are. Oh gross… Did I just quote Bruno Mars? Ick.)

    • Ahahaha, I love you. Let’s be friends?

  3. I agree with the commenter above — go treat yourself to a blow out every once in a while or straighten it just dont do anything permanent because as soon as you do you’ll want the curls again.

  4. I also have The Curls; my mother cut them too. Gawd. I go short these days because it’s gotten finer as I’ve aged and if I let it grow too long, the curls separate and lose their ringlet-y-ness.

    I used to dry it straight every day when I lived on the reservation and had a nice dry climate to keep it straight. Now I live in a big bowl of humidity, and I’ve stopped fighting it. My husband loves the curls, too. So I know the pressure to keep them. For what it’s worth, I don’t think you look lost in them at all.

    The only advice I have is to keep your eyes peeled for anyone you pass by who has great curly hair, hair that makes her look stunning. Then ask her who cuts it, and keep doing this until you’re getting cuts that keep you infatuated. A great stylist is worth his/her weight in weapons-grade uranium.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

