Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | January 11, 2011

EngagedAnomaly

Eleven days into the new year, and eleven days into my engagement.

I suppose I owe you an update.  You being the handful of people who still read this neglected blog.

The Background Story

C and I had been talking, during my unemployment, about The Future.  We talked about how we were happy, how we couldn’t imagine ourselves with anyone else.  And we talked about a lot of other gooey things that would send you all rushing towards the toilet–or at least a Dixie cup–trying not to spew all over the place.

So we started to talk about Shiny Things for Left Fingers, which sent me over the moon and I coasted along on daydreams.  I tried to keep a level head about things, but at the same time I was also pretty nosy.  It was like being 5-years-old and waiting for Christmas to arrive.

C was visiting his family during winter break, and I had a 4-day weekend for the New Year, so I was going to fly down to visit.  He was just too excited for my trip, so I started to get (more) suspicious.

When I arrived in St Louis, C was so relaxed and normal, that I instantly pushed aside any expectations of returning home to Chicago with an engagement ring.  If he were really going to ask, he’d have been a nervous wreck.

Little did I know. . .

New Year’s Eve

We celebrated the holiday like determined 5-year-olds.  We made a blanket fort in his upstairs living room, and protected it with his old stuffed animals.  After dinner, we made popcorn, cracked open a bottle of sparkling grape juice, and watched a movie.

The Fortress

We started a game of Scrabble while we waited for midnight to arrive.

As the clock chimed to let us know it was 2011, C tells me, “Hey, I think that stuffed animal just stole something that belongs to you.”  He motioned to his stuffed raccoon, Rocky.

Inside Rocky, who is a puppet, was a box.  And within that box was this gel/rubber light-up ring.  I was… speechless.  I stood there in utter confusion while I looked at the ring.

Rocky

I stared at the ring and Rocky in utter confusion.  I finally turned my head to look at C to say, “Um, what?”  But when I turned to look at him, I saw that he was down on one knee.

He said something sweet and genuine.  It was all so much a blur that I hardly remember a thing.  But I do remember that he asked me to marry him.

I said yes.

[It should be noted that I did not even cry or anything of the sort.  Seeing as I cry during every episode of Grey's Anatomy, I'm quite proud that I didn't turn into an emotional wreck, thankyouverymuch.]

Engaged

The ring

Epiloque

We were both far too excited to finish the game of Scrabble.  I think C was ahead.  Bummer.

We made a million phone calls to friends and family, and I never tire of telling this story.

The diamond was taken from C’s late grandfather’s wedding band.  It essentially has over 60 years of marriage behind it, which makes the diamond incredibly special to us.  The ring itself was made from a local jeweler, combining a few different styles that I had shown C.  The designer did an incredible job, and if you’d like more information, please leave a comment and I’ll let get in touch!

We haven’t done any planning; we’re simply enjoying this time of being engaged.  I will do my best not to turn this blog into a Wedding Planning Extravaganza.  You know what I mean.

We are both extremely excited to enter into this next phase in our relationship.

Finally, I’ve learned that “fiancé” refers to the male who is engaged, while “fiancée” refers to the female who is engaged.  This is important stuff, you guys.

Responses

  1. yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!
    congratulations, lovely girl!

  2. Congratulations!! What a great way to start a new year! :)

  3. Woohoo! What a sweet proposal, and a seriously beautiful ring! PS: I LOVE that you know the difference between fiance and fiancee. That’s one of those little things that bugs me more than it should when people use them incorrectly (like alumni/alumna/alumnus). :-P

  4. Hooray for proposal stories! Seriously, they’re my fave. And this one is especially cute. :)

  5. :D fun and cute. congratulations!

  6. Congratulations!! So happy and excited for you. What a great engagement story. Can’t wait to hear more about plans, dates, etc. Keep me posted!

  7. PS I absolutely love the ring and want to know more about it.

  8. Congratulations again! That was a great proposal story!

  9. Aww. Yay!

    That ring looks great and to have that history behind it is awesome.

    But where’s the picture of the light-up ring?

  10. I love this story and everything about it. You two are adorable! So fun that I met you just 24 hours before it happened; I can’t wait to hear more about everything, whenever you decide to plan (personally I think taking time to enjoy the engagement is totally worth it) and hopefully see you again sooonnn!!!!

  11. Many congrats on your engagement! I read about it earlier but didn’t have time to comment. Many, many best wishes for this new path in your life <3


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

