Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | May 16, 2011

Leaping with Faith

I’m saying good-bye to this city:

and saying hello to this city.

After a year and a half of being a long-distance relationship, C and I are ready to make this become simply a relationship.

A month ago I opened my mail to discover the lease renewal form staring me in the face.  C and I had a decision to make.

I could stay in Chicago, and take my chances with another roommate.  Or I could stay in Chicago and move into a studio, but say good-bye to all the money I save by living in a two-bedroom unit. If I chose to stay, I would still be 700+ miles away from C for another year. That would be another year of paying $200-300 a month to see him for approximately 48 hours. If I stayed, I would still be working in an environment that didn’t support my growth as an educator. And it would be another year of a seemingly eternal winter.

It was daunting. And neither of us were content with the idea of another year of the 700-mile commute to see each other. So we went with another option.

I’m moving to DC in eleven days. And I have never been SO EXCITED in my life.

I am ready–SO ready–to say goodbye to “Can you hear me now”s and dropped calls (forget you, AT&T).  I’m ready to have Scrubs marathons in person instead of over Netflix streaming.

I am ready to leap with faith.

Responses

  1. Wow…best of luck!!

  2. best of luck dear! ;D

  3. Congratulations! This is so sweet and awesome, and I’m sure you’re going to love the change it’s going to mean in your daily life and in your relationship :)

  4. Best of luck with your move! My move was much more local, but it was absolutely worth it to live in the same city (well, and apartment) as Adam & commute an hour vs. saving money w/living at home or elsewhere and living apart. Sure, long distance relationships can work for awhile, but it feels so very unnatural. Seeing each other every day rocks :)

  5. Yay, and boo. But mostly, yay. We’ll miss you in Chicago!

  6. How exciting! Best of luck with the move and all the new-ness! :)

  7. that’s awesome! have a fabulous move :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

