Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | May 30, 2011

After the Leap

The very last item was placed in the back of C’s car as it slowly began to sprinkle in Chicago.  I had already checked and triple-checked the apartment for any forgotten items (don’t worry, the bathroom clock was not left behind).

I buckled myself into the car, and the four of us made our way out of the city.  C’s parents had the mini van full of my belongings.  It was packed so intricately that even the world’s greatest Tetris player would have been amazed.

So many thoughts raced through my brain as the rain started to come down a little harder.  Did I remember everything? Will my mail be forwarded properly? I won’t have to deal with Cubs traffic this summer! This is exciting! And crazy! But mostly exciting!

The rain kept up with us from Chicago through both Indiana and Ohio.  Since it was raining and I had never driven C’s car before, C was a total champ and drove the entire first stretch of our trip.

Roadtrip updates - Day 1

We had a total comfort food meal of breakfast for dinner at a Denny’s in Youngstown, Ohio.  Excuse the pun, but I was out like a light as soon as my head hit the pillow.

Morning came and it was time for day 2 of our trip.  The day I would finally be moving in to C’s apartment.  I woke up drowsy but excited.

I was given the crash course of How to Drive C’s Car and we began our trek.  The two cups of orange juice and a cup of coffee were ingredients for a potential bladder emergency, but I survived.

Pennsylvania, you are absolutely gorgeous.  A++, Would road trip there again.

Roadtrip updates - Day 2

So, we made it.  I am here and I do not have to get on a plane to say good-bye at the end of the weekend.

The madness

It is hectic.  It is overwhelming.  There has already been a necessary trip to Target,  and toes have been stubbed as we maneuver our way through the living room.

But I am here and I am happy.

And I would not have it any other way.

Responses

  1. Depending on the route you take, I’m in the middle of DC and Chicago, just an fyi. Keep that in mind. =) I am so excited for you to start this next phase of your life. Good luck and keep me posted on how its going.

  2. Congratulations! I’m excited for both of you. :]

  3. You’re here!! You’re here!!

  4. yay :) glad to hear the road trip/move went well. enjoy settling in!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

