Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | November 16, 2007

Or I could pretend that I don’t know you.

I love running into people I know during my walks around campus.

However, I hate running into people I know while I’m walking to class. Sometimes it is okay, and we just smile and say “Hello” because we both realize that we’re off to class. But then sometimes… sometimes it just makes for an awkward moment. For everyone else on campus to witness.

I’ll see someone, smile, and say “Hey.” And rather than just returning the greeting, he or she will say, “Hey, what’s up?” or “Hey, how’s it goin’?” These are my least favorite greetings, ever. Am I supposed to stop walking now and tell you “what’s up”? And if I don’t stop to talk to you are you going to think I’m some kind of jerk? Oh, and then if I actually say something are you even going to listen, because I’m not really sure you actually wanted to hear an answer. Did you just say that to be nice, or did you actually want to know? Then there is the awkward foot shuffle between deciding if I’m supposed to stop walking or just keep going. But…but… okay you’re still walking so maybe I’m just supposed to keep walking, too. Oh wait, did you stop? Oh my gosh, I’m a jerk because I kept walking and didn’t even say anything! Okay next time I see you I think I’ll just smile. Or put my face to the ground and pretend I didn’t see you.

Ahhh.

Responses

  1. I used to do quick hugs. or say heyhow’sitgoingonmywaytoclassseeyoulaterbye without breaking my stride.

    a lot of people think I’m kind of strange.


Leave a Reply

Categories

