Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | April 2, 2008

Hey there, Stranger

On Tuesday morning I was rushing through campus to make it to my 8am class on time.  While walking down the sidewalk lined with the Osage-orange tree on the right and the Tulip Tree on the left, I noticed a guy headed in my direction.  He looked very much like my friend, Matt.  He had on jeans, a white Tshirt, and a black leather jacket.  He was about the same size and height as my friend, and he was even wearing a hat that I was pretty sure I had seen Matt wear before.

Excited to see him, but confused why Matt would be on this side of campus, I waved and smiled brightly.

And then “Matt” scrunched up his eyes to see me more clearly, and then continued to look behind him to see who on earth this crazy girl was waving to.

Two steps later I realized, This is not Matt.

Wow,” I said as I approached him.  “You definitely look like my friend from far away.”

Oh.”  He laughed a little.

“That was awkward.  Thanks for that.” I tried to laugh off my poor social skills.

Yeah, no problem.  Sorry I’m not your friend.  Have a good day!”

“Thanks!  You too!”

And we both stuck in our headphones and continued making our way through campus.

Leave a Reply

Categories

