Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | April 6, 2008

Pulling Threads

Inside the left pocket of my forest green pea coat are three loose threads that I have wadded together into a tiny ball.  Each thread is still connected to the lining of the pocket, but cutting them would not damage the coat in anyway.

I keep that small ball of thread in my pocket and twirl it around in between my fingers as I walk outside in the crisp weather.  I could easily cut it from my pocket, but for some reason I find comfort in that little ball of green thread hidden in my pocket.  Lately, I’ve realized that I take the time to make sure that pocket is empty, except for that annoying little clump of thread.  It’s not damaging, but I definitely shouldn’t need it to be there.  But it’s there.  And I can’t imagine my coat without it.

It makes me wonder how many other things I have in my life that are present but don’t really need to be there.  The piles of paper on my desk.  The random mementos from outings with friends.  Empty pencils that I keep thinking I’ll refill with lead someday.  I don’t need these things–but I can’t imagine my desk without them.  Three pairs of Converse Chuck Taylors, old Tshirts that I haven’t worn since high school, and pairs of socks that have holes in them.  My closet and dresser drawers wouldn’t be the same without them.

Maybe some day I’ll get around to doing some Spring cleaning.  But, for now, I’ll just keep twirling those three loose threads between my fingers.

Leave a Reply

Categories

