Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | April 21, 2008

Maybe I should sit somewhere else when I’m at work

Taped onto the wall by the desk I grade papers is a piece of paper that says,

I am requesting an original painting by (my boss’ daughter) with a plant, an alien, and maybe a human. I will pay for this piece in ice cream.

Signed,

(My Boss)

Now, I’m not really one of those girls who longs for marriage and the baby carriage, but reading this message every day makes me wonder what my family might be like some day.  I just know that I would like my husband to do ridiculously cute things like that with our kids–just like my dad used to beg me to come downstairs and dance with him to oldies, tell me really corny jokes, or squeeze my hand super tight during the “Our Father” at mass to try to make me squirm or giggle.  I want my kid(s?) to be happy to belong to this family.  I want them to brag about how cool their parents are.

But, of course, I’m still the girl who cringes at the thought of diapers, doesn’t get all mushy at the sight of a baby, and would probably take a flight to London over a wedding ring.  So I am probably just crazy.

Responses

  1. London? OK!

  2. heck yes, flight to london (I’ve been waiting for the opportunity to put it on my amazon wishlist but so far they haven’t started offering cheap flights on amazon).

  3. For some reason, I’ve been thinking a lot about marriage and family lately, too. I don’t have a lot of happy memories with my family, and I want to give my children so much of what I didn’t have. But then I look at a sentence I just wrote containing the words “my children,” and it seems so strange that I could have written such a thing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

