Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | May 28, 2008

Adjusting

Today I took the L to meet a friend for lunch.  (Why is it called the L anyway?)

After our delightful lunch, we ran a quick errand, and then she dropped me off at Argo Tea.  I am sitting at a table on the second floor of the café, and I am figuring out my budget for the next twelve months.  Every so often I can’t help but watch the buses drive past and the myriad of people scurry across the street.  There are people in their business suits with briefcases or in the latest fashion toting their newest purchase in large plastic bags.  

I look into the reflections of the windows from these giant buildings.  The trees are stuck in square meter blocks of “land” (and if they’re really unlucky they have but a tiny round hole for their trunks).  The thornless common honeylocust outside my window is half dead, and the tree across the street has the same sad fate.  Three cell phones went off in the last minute.

Everyone’s busy.  Everyone’s rushed.  The light turns yellow and the taxi is still trying to make a left turn.

It dawns on me.

I’m not in Podunk anymore.  

Responses

  1. The “L” is short for “elevated.” 😉

  2. Actually, it’s the “EL”. and yes Carly, it’s short for “elevated”

  3. I’ve written some great letters from that cafe.

  4. Actually, Chicago Transit Authority does abbreviate it “L,” not “EL.”

  5. P.S. Thanks for posting the link to the budgeting site. I’m currently signing myself up for it. It’s about time I became responsible with my money. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

