Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | November 29, 2008

Dreams: Part 2

While in London, a classmate and I wandered the city in hopes of finding obscure shops to take home interesting gifts.  After turning numerous corners and walking down street after didn’t-we-already-walk-down-this street we had found it:  Octopus.  That was the name of the store.  Seemingly random.  And inside there was a strange collection of goodies.  Perfect.  Pens with lady bugs on them, lighters with holograms, fancy lamp shades, curtains, you name it.  I was overwhelmed with the randomness, and then I saw the purse. 

It was tan, and the strap was designed with a bow on it.  The inside a bright, cheerful orange.  And the design on the purse was a painting of a girl with short hair, a clock, and a crocodile.  It has the phrase: Never alone in Neverland.  Ummm… Not sure if you know me or not, but I have a slight obsession for anything Peter Pan.  So, I bought it.  It was a pretty pricey purse, especially since I was paying by the English pound.  But to me, it was perfect.  I loved the purse so much that I was afraid to even use it.  But once I did, I was completely happy.

A few weeks ago, I dreamt that the design on the purse had been removed.  The purse was still there, but the girl and the crocodile were gone.  Missing.  I was devastated.  In the dream, I woke up absolutely frazzled.  I jumped out of the bed and grabbed the purse to make sure it was a dream.  But when I found the bag and saw that the design was in fact missing, I sobbed and sobbed. 

And then I finally woke up from the dream, my heart racing.  But the purse was okay–it was all just a dream.

But what did it mean?  I mean, that’s a pretty random thing to dream about, right?  And I don’t typically remember my dreams–so why would I remember this one?

I explained this dream to a friend of mine, and without missing a beat he said to me, “It sounds like you’re afraid that you’re losing yourself.  Your identity.  I don’t know.  I mean, Peter Pan is a big part of you, so to have that disappear is huge.”

Dang, subconscience.  That was deep.

Responses

  1. Very interesting.

    My dreams sometimes put together various different things that I’ve seen throughout the day, taking different elements and weaving them into one story.

    Sometimes there are so many different layers to my dreams that they don’t have a coherent storyline and I can’t describe them when I wake up.

    Sometimes I keep dreaming after I wake up, and it’s hard to figure out what’s real and what’s not.

    And of course, often my subconscious is working something out in dreams.


Leave a Reply

Categories

