Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | December 10, 2008

The Thinks I Think

Today at the end of religious education, all of the teachers received poinsettias as gifts.  I couldn’t decide whether or not I was happy to be taking home something that had been driving me crazy 8 hours a day, 5 days a week, for the past 3 months (Who am I kidding?  I was totally excited)

We all walked outside into the snow to head home for the night.  With our wrapped poinsettias in hand, my co-teacher and I started talking about random things that had happened during class.  And even though I was really enjoying the conversation, I couldn’t help but think, Dude.  Poinsettias out in the cold weather.  Oh no.  It’s gonna die.  Gonna die.  Don’t want it to die.  Don’t let the plant die.  Don’t die, don’t die, don’t die.

I am a total nerd.

[For those of you not in the know… Poinsettias are native to Mexico.  So cold weather temps–i.e. December in Chicago–kinda freak out poinsettias.  Cold weather makes them wilt, and then die.  And it can be pretty instant.  It’s pretty pathetic that a winter plant is so wimpy when it comes to winter weather.]

Leave a Reply

Categories

