Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | January 5, 2009

It’s a New Year, and I’ve got things to do

Whoa, hey there 2009.  Sorry, I didn’t even notice you were here.   

I didn’t have a countdown of any sorts, and I couldn’t tell you my top memories or favorite quotes of 2008.  In fact, 2008 was somewhat of a disappointment for me.  I was supposed to “Take adventures” but I feel as though I was a complete flop in sticking to my goals.  Go ahead and stick me in the same sinking ship as those people who said they’d exercise every day or update their blog more often.  2008 had all the makings to be an epic adventure, but when I allowed myself to lounge around the apartment in my pajamas after work, I let it become an epic fail.  Without being too harsh on myself, I’ll give myself some credit.  After all, I did venture out into Wrigley Field (yikes).  Let’s not forget that I taught a group of 6th graders every Wednesday–that was definitely an adventure.

If I really did take more “adventures” than I am willing to admit, then I must have gotten lost along the way.  During the trailing end of ’08 I forgot who I wanted to be, what I was passionate about, and how to be myself.  

Admittedly, I’m a little leery about 2009.  Odd-numbered years and I never seem to get along, but I’m willing to give it a shot.  Throughout these next twelve months I’ll find my bearings and come out of 2009 stronger and better because of it.  This year, I plan to (re)discover. I’ll remember how to laugh and how to make others laugh.  This year I’ll make a difference in my hometown in ways I dreamed about in high school.  I hope to find the girl who is passionate about life and the world around her.  In 2009, I’ll (re)discover me.

And I think that’s an adventure worth having.  Better get started.

Leave a Reply

Categories

