Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | January 28, 2009

Macaroni and Cheese is one of my favorite crayons, actually

Today I met up with a friend for lunch and a friend for cupcakes (that delicious adventure probably deserves its own blog post), but I was still feeling down at the end of the day.

So I stopped by WalMart on my way home to grab a few pick me up items:  macaroni and cheese and a coloring book.  The mac n cheese makes me feel like a kid–back when little things in life didn’t bother me so much.  And coloring?  I desperately needed some Crayola therapy.  My drawing skills are pretty good, for a 5-year-old.  But I have coloring skills that could blow you away!  I won all those coloring contests at the local grocery store, and I use only the finest of Crayola crayons.  No messy markers or coloring pencils for this girl.  

After grabbing my box of mac n cheese, I found my way back to the toy department.  I was shocked to discover that the “Coloring & Activity” section was so barren.  I don’t even know if you should call it a “Coloring” section.  More than half the items in the shelves were sticker books.  Sticker books?  Are you kidding me?!  I wanted my Jumbo Coloring Book with connect-the-dot pages and mazes and color-by-numbers!  They didn’t even have my staple Sesame Street book.  I was furious.  

Furious… and disappointed.  I mean, if kids aren’t getting Jumbo coloring books from WalMart, where are they getting them?  Is the economy so horrible that they can’t afford to print coloring books anymore?  With all these Leapster programs and other “educational” video games I’m wondering if coloring has become a thing of the past.  And that’s a shame.

Responses

  1. I love coloring… there’s something so tranquil about it. Kids these days are missing out. 🙂

    Though I have to say I’m not a fan of “coloring and activity” books. I’d rather just have the straight coloring, no chaser of mazes and what-have-you.

  2. Check the $1 section at Target. They usually have some pretty sweet Peanuts coloring books. And really, what DOESN’T Target have?

  3. Ok, so I think that we should hang out and be 5 years old together. I love coloring. And mac and cheese. And could really use both today!

    I find the best coloring book selection at dollar stores.

  4. Hmm… Mac n Cheese. Brings back childhood memories. To this day, I still sit down most morning watching cartoons and eating my Captain Crunch cereal.


Leave a Reply

Categories

