Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | February 2, 2009

Peer pressure made me do it, Part II

This silly meme has been floating around Facebook, and since three different people “tagged”me in it, I figured I should finally play along.

1.  When I was really little and my parents took me somewhere in the car, they would turn off the radio and I’d start singing my own song.  My number one best hit went, “Dee dee whop! Dee dee whop! Ahhh”.

2.  My parents nicknamed me “Whopper” because of this song.  Unfortunately, it’s also the name of a fast food burger.

3.  I was in little league softball growing up.  

4.  During one of the games I chipped my front tooth.  I wish I could say that it was while I was catching a game-deciding fly ball or something, but actually I chipped it on a Blow Pop while I was in the dug out.

5.  I’ve been paranoid about chipping my teeth ever since that moment.

6.  In Jr. High I played the alto saxophone.  Merely because my brother had played the same instrument and they didn’t want to buy a new instrument for me.  Totally lame.

7.  I quit the alto saxophone in 6th grade to play the alto clarinet.

8.  I also rocked out on the bass and contrabass clarinet.  But never the E flat clarinet.  

9.  My family has gone through an abundance of pets.  Hermit crabs, fish, guinea pigs, hamsters, a rabbit… countless cats (you tend to go through a lot of cats when you live near the country) and during my lifetime we’ve had 6 dogs–always three at a time.

10.  Some people would probably have preferred to use the money we spent on our pets towards a nice vacation or something.  But I can’t imagine my life without my dogs and my cat.  There is nothing more joyful than coming home to three happy dogs.

11.  I wanted to be a veterinarian when I grew up–I even worked at a vet clinic for 2 years.  

12.  I became a horticulturalist instead.  I don’t get nearly as emotional about a dead plant as a sick puppy or kitty.

13.  At the end of Marley & Me I bawled like a baby.  In fact, if you didn’t cry in that movie you have no soul.

14.  I was born on May 14th, 1986

15.  Since that time my family has lived in the exact same house.  I moved from the upstairs bedroom to the downstairs bedroom.  It was a really big deal at the time.

16.  It took -forever- to get my stinkin’ license because my parents lost my social security card.  And then once I got my license, I wasn’t even allowed to drive outside of my hometown for, like, months.

17.  My little blue car once belonged to my high school horticulture teacher.  I think it was fate.

18.  I have found multiple four-leaf clovers in my life.  As in dozens.  

19.  Places I traveled to outside the US include:  Italy, Germany, London, and Dublin.  I have seen the Swiss Alps while taking a 20-hour bus trip from Rome to Cologne, Germany. 

20.  Someday I’d like to visit Scotland.

21.  I’m related to the man who invented the gas lamp.  Srsly.

22.  It bothers me greatly when there’s a classic rock song playing and someone says something like, “Oh! This is a Guitar Hero song!”  These songs rocked long before a video game used them.

23.  My favorite TV show growing up was Doug.  To this day I still get the theme song stuck in my head.  I have also purchased the first season of Doug on iTunes.  (Best 20 bucks I’ve ever spent.)

24.  I’m not really a night-owl.  I’m not really a morning person, either.  I’m more of a sleep person.

25.  One of these comments is a lie.

Responses

  1. I’ve been tagged in this stupid thing like 4 or 5 times. I’m not giving in! 😉

  2. Wait, they have Doug on iTunes?! AWESOME.


Leave a Reply

Categories

