Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | February 5, 2009

Guilty Pleasures: #4

I’m reviving this old blog theme.  Tonight Dad and I made a quick dinner and lounged around watching TV.  Mom is off on some conference in Chicago, so we feel we can slack off a little.  I forced Dad to watch LOST with me.  The entire time he was making silly comments, “I don’t get this show.  I guess I’m LOST.”  “What time is it?  Where’s the bathroom?  I guess I’m LOST.”  When he wasn’t making comments, I could grasp bits and pieces of what was actually happening in the episode.  And when a certain element unfolded, I literally squealed in excitement.  Dad just thought I was crazy.  The show ended, and Dad took over the remote.  

This brings me to Guilty Pleasure #4:  Bad TV

Apparently Dad is in love with this show.  The show is called Man vs Food and it can be found on the Travel Channel.  Basically, it’s nothing but a young American guy who goes around the U.S. looking for big plates of greasy food and challenges himself to eat all of it.  What’s not to love about a guy engorging himself with 6 pounds of hamburger or five jalapeño fritters in 15 minutes.  He takes bite after bite of maple-bacon donuts and burgers labeled “Double Bypass” on the menu.  It was absolutely ridiculous, and yet I couldn’t look away.  By the end of the show I think my cholesterol shot through the roof and my arteries cried out in pain.  But I’ll probably watch it again.

Responses

  1. Yes! That sounds like an awesome show.

    I am a fan of bad TV, so it’s probably a good thing I don’t have cable.

  2. I’m suuuuuper hungry now.

    No. Really, I am. Time for breakfast.

  3. I’m so going to eat at that place in Arizona with the Double Bypass burger. It looks DELICIOUS. But, then, I’m a fatty anyhow.


Leave a Reply

Categories

