Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | February 19, 2009

Confusing Courage with Wisdom

You, my friend, are a victim of disorganized thinking. You are under the unfortunate impression that just because you run away you have no courage; you’re confusing courage with wisdom.

— The Wizard of Oz

 

If you’re new to my blog there’s something you may not be aware of.  I left my job at a wonderful garden taking care of beautiful plants…by choice.  I left because I was lonely and unhappy.  It was affecting me mentally in a way I can’t fully explain.  Now, I also left because of financial issues, but the emotional aspect was a large part of it.

Some people see it as running away.  Some people told me, “Life is hard.  Suck it up.”  Those words were hard to swallow.  To be honest, they haunt me a little bit.  Especially when I start to worry about not hearing back from job opportunities or start to worry about how much money I have left in savings.

But I was raised by a mother who would tell me, “If you don’t like it, you can always leave it.”  And I did.  I left little league softball, Park District basketball, swim team, dance lessons, and chorus.  Because I didn’t like them.  They didn’t make me me.  I have painfully left behind friendships or gotten out of relationships because at the end of the day I just plain realized “I didn’t like it.”

The job that I had for those six months was a wonderful opportunity.  There are days where I wonder if I have missed out on extraordinary experiences.  Some days I really feel like a coward.   
But in my heart of hearts, I know that I made the right decision.  I know that I was not running away.  I was finding both the courage and wisdom to do what was emotionally best for me.

Responses

  1. It totally takes guts to quit a job, even when you don’t like it. I quit a job as a preschool teacher, even though I loved it, because it was making me crazy. Seriously? It was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. I commend you. 🙂

  2. […] I had started to feel doubts about my decision to leave my old job, but I realized that I was much wiser than I […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

