Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | March 1, 2009

Uh, Er, Um… Yeah

I am taking this moment to apologize to any and all people that have been forced to sit through an awkward voicemail from yours truly.

I hate leaving voicemail messages.  It’s right up there with calling the pizza place and emailing professors.  It’s awkward and uncomfortable; I am always caught off-guard by that little beep.  After that little beep any shred of confidence that I had vanishes and I am a rambling mess of Er… Uh… and “Umm you should call me back sometime.  Or something.  Yeah.”

That’s definitely going to get him to call me back, right? Right? Hmmph.

Responses

  1. I leave awkward voice messages, too. What is there to say? “Hi, it’s Christine. I was calling to talk.* Call me back. Bye.”

    Occasionally I try to say something more creative, and it always ends up being incredibly awkward, and I end up trailing off into… “Um… anyway… I hope to talk to you soon.”

    On the other hand, I always hate calling people, and rarely call a friend unless they specifically tell me too, or we get into a ritual of talking every week. So sometimes it’s a relief to get a voicemail and just let them call me back.

    *Why else would I be calling? I don’t even know why I say it. It seems pretty self-evident.

  2. This is me. I am the world’s worst voicemail-leaver. “Um, hi… it’s me, um, Brooke…. Uh, I was just calling for [x] but I guess you’re busy or gone or something… so, uh, I guess just call me back? Or something? And I’ll talk to you later, er, whenever you get this, and yeah. So yeah. I’m going now. So, um, bye.”

  3. I also freak out at the sound of teh beep. I forget my own telephone number. How weird isn’t that? And I do a nervous little giggle.


Leave a Reply

Categories

