Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | March 7, 2009

In which I talk about jewelry.

Dendrophilous: adj. Fond of trees

Yesterday I was admiring the earrings in Rachelskirts’s flickr photo. Since they were partially cut out of the photo, I couldn’t quite make out the design. It appeared to be a tree with its branches and roots exposed artistically. And, if you know me at all, you know that I needed a pair of earrings like that.

Turns out they weren’t pretty tree earrings. So I was on a mission to find a pair of my own. Cue Etsy.

I was in tree-earring heaven, but I squirmed in distaste when a maple leaf was paired with an acorn. That’s not how Mother Nature works!

And then I saw these:

Samara earrings!  :swoon:

Samara earrings! :swoon:

UmbilicusDesigns has brilliantly and beautifully created silver earrings out of maple seeds (samaras)! That is most fabulous thing I have ever, ever seen.  It just makes me channel my 6-year-old self when I would gather up handfuls of these and toss them into the air to make little helicopters.  Who am I kidding?  I still do that.

Yeah, okay, so they’re $56. You guys have two months until my birthday. I think we can make this happen. (hint. hint.)

Responses

  1. Wait, so my yard is full of earrings during the late summer? Oh, silver. Ok.

    I still throw them and watch them spin, too. Of course, it’s also fun to just wait for a really windy day and then watch hundreds of them flying all at once.

  2. Wow, those are gorgeous. I love love love tree/grass/leaves/roots/anything nature-y earrings.


Leave a Reply

Categories

