Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | March 8, 2009

Confession Sunday

You know the mating sound of the mourning dove?  That oo-wah-hoo, hoo-hoo sound?  Okay, that just makes me sound like I’m crazy… But you can hear the sound at this website.  Depending on where you live in the world, you may or may not be familiar with it.  But if you do know that sound, you probably remember it waking you up at the crack of dawn every day.

Anyway.

The trees around our house are home to a lot of these noisy little birds.  When I was little, I dubbed the bird the “hoo-hoo bird”.  I don’t know if my parents didn’t realize what the bird really was, or if they were just humoring me, but the name stuck.  And because of that, I never realized that the hoo-hoo bird was actually the mourning dove.

In fact, I didn’t learn their true name until two summers ago when I interned at a local park and shared free housing with 3 other interns.

“Oh my God, Matt.  Those stupid Hoo-Hoo birds keep waking me up at 6 in the morning.”

“Hoo-hoo birds?  What the hell is a Hoo-Hoo bird?”

“Ummm, you know.  Those little birds that sound like owls, but they aren’t.”

“You mean Mourning Doves?”

My world shattered a little bit.  The 3-year-old within me was crushed.  After a quick Wikipedia search I discovered the true identity of the Hoo-Hoo Bird.  Life hasn’t really been the same ever since.

But, come on.  I know I’m not the only person who’s done something like this.  What childhood ideas have you kept around long into adulthood?

Responses

  1. My first memory is actually something my older brother has kept into adulthood: he used to hate broccoli, so my mom called it “magic trees” one time, and actually got him to eat it that way. To this day, my 25-year-old brother REFUSES to call it broccoli.

  2. hahahahaha

  3. I don’t know how long this one persisted, but I don’t think I ever made sense of the phrase “Up and at ’em!”. It always just kinda sounded like a blur: Up ‘n Adam. I have no idea what “Adam” would have to do with it. And now, of course, since I’m dating someone named Adam it comes back all the time. UP AND ADAM ,ADAM. It seems he never had this confusion growing up…

    …I’m sure there are more relevant examples, but that’s what popped into my head first. 🙂

  4. I would just like to say that you did a really good job of typing out the mating call of the mourning dove. Really very accurate.

    I’ll have to get back to you on the other part, though. I’m sure there’s something. I’m fairly stupid. 😉

  5. I think mourning doves sound so cool.

    Let’s see, I can’t think of anything off the top of my head that I carried all the way into adulthood, but I know I was in junior high before I realized that most people’s dads weren’t on business trips during the week. My mom tells me that when I used to play with my plastic dollhouse, I would have the dad kiss the mom and leave on a business trip, and the rest of the game would go on without him.

    My mom always made us chocolate chip pancakes. I was quite old, maybe in high school, before I realized that pancakes could come without chocolate chips.

    • I’m pretty sure life would be better if chocolate chips were required in pancakes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

