Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | April 14, 2009

Little Black Shoes

Every girl relies on her little black dress, as the cliche goes.  And while I do have my LBD that I adore, I have something else in my closet that I rely on.  My little black shoes.

They are comfortable.  They are practical.  And while I am not much of a shoe person, I do remember squealing in excitement when I found these little beauties. 

I bought them in 2005–yes, 2005.  I told you I’m not much of a shoe shopper; girls everywhere just gasped in disbelief.  Did you hear it?  Anyway.  I bought them in 2005 for my trip to Rome.  I needed some dependable shoes that could handle the cobbled streets of Rome, but they also had to be appropriate for visiting the Vatican.  And since that early August trip, these shoes have served me well.

They have walked through the dusty paths of ancient Roman chariot races, ventured to the top of St. Peter’s Basilica, and they gathered mud from Marienfield in Germany while I participated in World Youth Day.

In 2006-2007, these shoes helped me trek through the London tube and they survived the sticky floors of Dublin bars.  They have graced the floors of Sonoma wineries.  They’ve made it through numerous airport security checks, and have been haplessly shoved into my suitcase more times than I can remember. 

My little black flats gave me the confidence I needed for at least two major job interviews, helped me tie together an outfit for multiple dates, and saw me through two different relationships. 

These ballet flats have been through good times and bad.  But, I’m afraid it’s time for me to move on.  Admittedly, they smell at the end of the day.  There are holes on the bottom of the soles, and the fabric is showing its wear and tear now.  I hate to part with them, because they have gone through so much with me.  They are just as much a souveneir to me as any magnet or stolen Guinness glass (shh).

Okay, readers.  Help a girl find a great pair of black ballet flats.

Responses

  1. A.) Holy cow crap you travel a lot. *jealouse* (Hope you get that reference.)

    B.) Aldo. Love and adore Aldo. More specifically Blowfish shoes.

  2. Sounds like a trip to Target to me! 😉

  3. […] 19 04 2009 A while ago, this girl wrote a post about the need to replace her Little Black […]

  4. […] Black Shoes, The Sequel Remember how I said I needed to let go of my Little Black Shoes?  Yeah. Back in […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

