Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | April 15, 2009

Marriage and the Baby Carriage

Being a 20-something who is a) pretty involved in the Catholic faith and has since made multiple Catholic friends and b) from a nice small town where people don’t always go for change or adventure can only lead to one thing:

Weddings.

My two good friends from home are happily engaged/married to their high school sweethearts. Two of my close friends from college are now engaged.  Let me first of all say that I am extremely happy for them.  I see them with their fiancés/husband and they are so wonderfully happy.  Yet I can’t deny that sometimes it’s incredibly lonely realizing that I’m not in a blissful engagement or early marriage.

However.

I am by no means ready for that.  My brain is telling my heart that I have a lot of sorting and discovering to do about myself before I try to devote the time it takes to form a real, healthy relationship.  And for once, my brain knows what she’s talking about.

Right now I’m proposing to myself:  to a healthy self-image, to a better level of self-respect, and to loving myself.

Yes, that IS a Ring Pop

Yes, that IS a Ring Pop

Responses

  1. I think you’re wearing my glasses.

    At this point I wouldn’t be entirely surprised if I never even have a romantic relationship. Let’s face it, my closest male friend is celibate. Even aside from that, I’ve never even come close to a romantic relationship. I don’t think I’d really have been able to have a healthy relationship until the past two or three years, but still no one has come along. Fortunately, having strong friendships is teaching me a lot. Not so fortunately, my friends who get married usually ignore me afterwards, so I don’t see how they are with their spouses, but that does at least help minimize the “I wish I could be as happy as they are” thoughts.

  2. Aww what a good, empowering post. 🙂 I love it.

    And thank you for pointing out the trend/reality of young marriages in small towns/people of strong faith. I am genuinely interested in the correlation there (no offense intended at all to those relationships, I promise).

    Marriages and engagements are definitely everywhere these days, and they still continue to (perhaps illogically) shock me…I feel so young! And poor! But the happiness is definitely wonderful to witness 🙂

  3. awww, that is so cute! if someone proposed to me like that, i’d be charmed 😀 but to yourself? it’s a good thing to make a commitment to yourself, your life, and your needs!

  4. Hear hear!

  5. […] out in the wild.  But, finally, as more and more of my friends became engaged or married, I made a proposal to myself:  for a healthy self-image, for self-respect, and to love myself.  Complete with Ring […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

