Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | May 9, 2009

Teen is for everybody

The 11th thing I complain about but now no-longer secretly enjoy:  Twilight.

I’m sorry.  I like the book, okay?  Today I headed to the library in hopes of finding New Moon.

I’m not one for logical processes.  I make things difficult.  It’s what I do.  So I skipped the whole “Internet catalogue” and headed to the info desk for directions.

Me:  Where can I find the Young Adult section?

Middle-aged Librarian:  You mean the Teen section?

Me:  Ummm. Err.  I guess.

Librarian’s face crinkles up in confusion.

Me:  I guess I just didn’t want to admit I was reading a teen novel.

Librarian:  Oh! It’s totally okay!  I do it all the time.  We all do.  We convince ourselves that the genres just sort of merge together.

And then I found the last available copy of New Moon and walked away.  I’m sure I crushed some 7th graders dreams this weekend.  Sorry.

Responses

  1. I tried to look smart by taking Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility to work today. It took me 4 hours to trudge through 3 pages (keep in mind I was doing work things, too…I’m not that slow). Needless to say, tomorrow I’m taking Prince Caspian to work.

  2. noooo twilight nooooo

    my little sister reads them. so i’ve read them all. got to keep up with those “young adults”.

    but still…twilight…bwaahhhh

    😛

  3. I recently finished Twilight and just officially do not get the hype, but understand the YA love. 🙂 I still read Meg Cabot (Princess Diaries + many others), Sarah Dessen, Megan McCafferty (whose character has luckily aged with me and is now a year or two older than us…I think…need to read the most recent release). It’s just so good. I cannot get rid of the many YA books I own (from back when I purchased the bulk of my books, in spite of being a weekly+ visitor to the local library).

  4. I’m so proud of you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

