Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | May 12, 2009

The grass is always greener…

My house, as I’ve mentioned before, is the last house before the country surrounding my small town.  We’re technically out of city limits simply because our house is on the left side of the road; the city line is drawn right at the median of my street.  This is good, because my family doesn’t have to pay city taxes, but we do have to pay extra for library cards or pool passes.

It also means that we have a septic tank in our backyard. They won’t take our crap into the city’s sewer system.  Literally.

I never questioned how these things worked.  I just figured bacteria was constantly breaking down our business and life was good.

The other day Mom and I were watching TV and some commercial came on about the importance of maintaining your septic system.

Me:  So.  How exactly does a septic tank work?  We’ve never really had issues with ours, right?

Mom:  Well.  Stuff gets sent out into the tank, bacteria breaks it down, and then it’s leached out into the soil.

Me: OH MY GOD OUR BACKYARD IS FERTILIZED BY OUR OWN POOP?

Mom (totally nonchalant):  Yep.

I will never walk barefoot in our backyard again.

Responses

  1. GROSS. SO GROSS.

    I’m so sorry.

  2. Um. We have a septic tank, too (everyone in my little town/community does)…and no, I was not aware of that. Must verify with parentals…I’m a big fan of going barefoot 😦 EEKS.

    • Technically it IS broken down into nitrogen and happy things for plants/the soil. But still. Ew.


Leave a Reply

Categories

