Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | June 26, 2009

June Blog Carnival: Looking Back

This post is a part of 20SB’s Looking Back Blog Carnival, and Ben & Jerry’s is awarding free ice cream to lucky bloggers and readers!

When I created this blog, I was going through a break-up and also trying to figure out what I wanted to do with my life after graduation.  I find it interesting that right now I am still dealing with some leftover break-up drama and I’m still trying to figure out what I really want to do with my life.  Circle of life.  Or something.

So, without further introduction… my very first blog post at MajalisBlooms:

Shine with Joy

“…the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but
burn,
burn,
burn like fabulous yellow roman candles
exploding like spiders across the stars
and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’”

-On the Road, Jack Kerouac

This used to be my motto, my theme, my hope. But somewhere between junior year and now, I feel as though I’ve faded. I stopped caring, I stopped trying to be the fun person that I know that I can be. I am not sure when it began, but I am determined to stop it from progressing.

My biggest fear in life is to be boring.

So, it is time for an adjustment. A re-evaluation of sorts. Today I was trained to be a volunteer at the local humane society. It’s something small and simple, but now I can make a difference in my community, and have fun doing so.

I refuse to settle. To be plain or boring. I will do whatever it takes to again be the girl who could put a smile on everyone’s face, including her own at the end of the day. I want the room to glow when I enter into it, and I want to shine with joy that I know I have deep within me.

Before whom the stars at their posts shine and rejoice; When he calls them, they answer, “Here we are!” shining with joy for their Maker. Such is our God; no other is to be compared to him.
Baruch 3:34-35

Responses

  1. as long as you’re you, you’ll never be boring.

  2. You get home okay last night?

    Also, still my favorite quote.


Leave a Reply

Categories

