Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | July 17, 2009

Motivation Proclamation*

For the past few weeks, a new friend and I have been playing a non-stop game of 20-questions.  I’m sure we’ve broken 20 by now, but I’d say we’re still having fun getting to know each other.  

Some of the questions have been pretty simple–favorite cereal?, first job?, etc.  But the other night I upped the ante.  

“What’s your motivation in life?”  I sprang at him.

“That is pretty deep,” he commented.

We added to the question to make it a little easier to grasp the fullness of the inquiry.  Everyone wakes up to a new day for something; deep down everyone has a deeper reason behind making those first few steps out of that comfy bed other than a job or responsibilities.  What is it?

Finally, he answered in one powerful word, “People.”  Yet, he wasn’t quite able to offer an explanation.

Even though he couldn’t describe it, part of me knew exactly what he meant.  Who hasn’t been motivated by a friend, a family member, or another individual?  We all have our role-models in life.  People can inspire us to be a greater version of ourselves.  Everyone has a story to tell, and we can all learn from it.  It was a great answer, even if he doesn’t realize it.

It was my turn to answer.  I felt nervous as I prepared to give him my response; afraid that I was about to burst into an embarrassing eruption of pure cliché.

I told my friend how I am motivated by the love in the little things–the love you might just miss if you aren’t looking closely enough.  I didn’t necessarily mean the gooey love of relationships–even though it can definitely be motivating and, you know, nice.  But I was talking about the type of love that’s in the sunshine as it pours into a maple leaf.  The love in the water as it trickles down the riverbed.  The love in the wind as it whips your hair around your face.  That day-by-day love found in a silly text message that you send to a friend, or in doing your roommate’s dishes because you know they’ve had a bad day.  You might not even realize that it’s love when you’re doing it, but it totally is.  

I wake up every day because I want to put more of that little love into the world.

What about you?  What’s your motivation? 

*Yes.  Yes, I did use a Good Charlotte song for my title.  I guess I’m okay with that.

Responses

  1. I think one word answers are the way to go about answering this.

    Mine: Creativity. Because every idea deserves to *be*.

    • Totally! And everyone has their own great form of creativity. I love it. That’s why I work with kids–to keep that creativity going.

  2. I think mine is “future”. I would hope I’m living in the present, of course, but a lot of what I do (okay, GRAD SCHOOL) is to get to the place I truly want to be: gainfully employed, independent, ADULT, Europe, engaged, married, babies, HAPPY.

    And I love your motivation. And the little things 🙂

    • Aww yeah, the future is definitely a big motivator. But don’t wait for the future; let yourself be happy now, too. : )

  3. I have to say, “people” is a pretty good answer. I think that would definitely have to be mine because those motivators from my family have brought me to where I am now.

    • I’m going to second (okay, third if you count the anonymous friend) the “people” suggestion.

      And, it probably sounds similar to the example above with stories, but everyone has a skill or talent to offer as well, and I feel that it should be their mission in life to use that skill to help others as much as possible.

  4. My motivation is also people. Mainly, I want the people I love and who love me back to be proud of me for who I am and who I’m becoming (whatever that may be).

    • Amazing and fabulous. That’s what you are. 🙂

  5. If we were on Facebook, I’d give this entry a ‘thumbs up/ like’!!

  6. […] July sneaked its way into the year, I played a seemingly endless game of 20-questions with my new friend.  A little girl told me I tasted like (imaginary) cookies, a man mistook me for […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

