Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | July 28, 2009

Music of the City

“One of the greatest things about the city is that there is always music playing.”

This might have been the first sentence in an episode of Curious George that was on PBS this afternoon when I got home from work.  

Even though I am still apparently 4 years old at heart, my 23-year-old self knew that The Man in the Yellow Hat was absolutely right.  I thought about my own neighborhood and instantly recalled the stranger who plays the trumpet a few apartment buildings away.  I love hearing him/her play as I walk down the street to finish my errands or go on a walk.  It makes me wonder how many other people in this city might be strumming their guitar or plinking away at their piano. 

There’s the quiet music that’s played in my cozy little tea café, yet a few blocks away there’s the cacophony of bass and techno at the club.   How many people are listening to their radios as they drive?  I’ve already lost count of the cars that have passed by since I started writing this.  

I love the music of the city.  The cars and the people, the wind and the lake.  The real heart and soul of Chicago.  However, there are times when I feel like the music of the city turns into noise.

It makes me wonder… In all this noise, what are we really hearing?  And what are we choosing to listen to?  

I’m going to make it a point to really listen to my city for this next week and a half.  I want to hear all of its music before I have to leave.

Responses

  1. my prediction is you will discover whether or not you’re an urbanite. i love city noises. even car horns. it reminds me that the city is alive.

    btw, Chicago is a fantastic sounding city, because it sounds way distinct and different than many major metro areas in which i’ve spent time. give it a good listen!

  2. i love the music of the city as well.

    the only time it turns into noise for me is when i hear angry yelling late at night from my window. that freaks me out.

    but otherwise, i love how it changes depending on where you go.

    • Ohhh the yelling. Or the drunks at 2am on a Thursday. That I could live without.

  3. Its such a perfect quote!

  4. […] Sarah Jessica Parker, and life was pretty amazing.  I fell in love with every single thing about Chicago, and I didn’t want to […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

