Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | August 25, 2009

First Impressions

Chastity: I know you can be overwhelmed, and you can be underwhelmed, but can you ever just be whelmed?
Bianca: I think you can in Europe.

Two days of classes into the semester and grad school has successfully overwhelmed and underwhelmed me all at once.  Doesn’t that break a law of physics or something?

I am overwhelmed by this newly acquired responsibility, but underwhelmed by my two advisers who have hardly communicated with me throughout this settling-in process.  Unless you count a 9:45pm phone call by one of my professors to get some information from me for the next day’s lecture as “communication.”

I was sent warm paper greetings, but I feel neglected in that cold, empty office.

Responses

  1. Holy cow, I love you so hard for quoting that. Hope things pick up for you soon! Give ’em a few days to adjust to your awesomeness. 🙂

  2. From what I’ve been told, that’s what the first week of teaching is like (…so, yeah, the boy and I talked) …

    You’re in my thoughts! There’s been a good handful of times I wish we could go down to the harbor to talk until the fireworks…

  3. Ugh. I hope this changes soon as you get settled in…

  4. […] But August came, and my summer day camp was over.  I left Chicago with a new sense of hope, but grad school seemed like a terrible disappointment. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

