Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | December 22, 2009

EPIC

You know what? Odysseus out-witting a cyclops and making it back to his home after 10 years was epic.  Gollum BITING THE RING off Frodo’s finger and Frodo finally kicking that idiot and the ring into the fires of Mordor–EPIC.  Indiana Jones outrunning a freakin’ boulder and finding the Ark of the Covenant (but we won’t talk about that crystal skull B.S.) was brilliantly epic.  And the Ghostbusters taking down a giant Stay Puft Marshmallow man, you guessed it–epic.

Your drunken debauchery was not epic.  Or probably anything else you used that word for, actually.

I am SO ready for this word to drop off the depths of the urban dictionary with its gross uncle That’s what she said and its equally obnoxious cousin, Cougar.

“Dude, I went out last night and got totally shit faced.  It was epic.”

That is NOT epic.

“My friends came into town for the weekend and we went to like five different bars and I don’t even remember half of Saturday night.  It was totally epic.”

NOT epic.

“I just ate five hamburgers for breakfast.  Epic win, you guys.”

I’m done here.

Responses

  1. Haha. I can understand your frustration.

    And I love your first paragraph. Definitely all epic examples.

  2. You crack me up!

    • Thank you, thank you. I do what I can.

  3. YES!!! I share in the hatred of this word being used INCORRECTLY! It makes my blood boil, and I’m unsure why I’m so personally offended by it. LoL

    • *Phew* So glad I’m not alone.

  4. […] epic is just plain misused. Share in Lovely Anomaly’s […]

  5. I’m completely guilty of misusing this word but please keep in mind I live in an incredible small town and don’t get out often. =)

  6. This post was epic!

    (I’m sorry, I couldn’t resist.)

    I agree with you; epic is very overused. Plus, as someone with a degree in Classics, I’ve read some real epics. A night of drinking just does not compare.

  7. I’m totally guilty. But this is still hilarious.

    Epically so.

    SORRY, SORRY!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

