Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | December 31, 2009

My Year in Review: 2009

Calling 2009 a “whirlwind of a year” might be a bit of an understatement.  In fact, I didn’t realize how much was crammed into these past 12 months until today when I started to reflect on it.

January:  The year started curled up in my bed, surrounded by empty mugs of Theraflu and wadded up tissues.  I was nursing a terrible cold, the fact that I had just left behind a job with no real prospect of a new one, and a break-up.  It was a pretty sad sight to see.

By February, I had been offered a job at a local park: being in charge of the volunteers, setting up fun events, and helping design new landscape changes.  But it never happened, because Illinois decided to stop funding local parks.   I had started to feel doubts about my decision to leave my old job, but I realized that I was much wiser than I knew.

In March, I had established myself as a pretty awesome junior high substitute teacher.  During that time, I mastered the art of crossword puzzles and using my Substitute Teacher Voice.  And I read the Twilight series (“OMG, Miss Anomaly reads Twilight?  She is SO COOL.”).  I was accepted into grad school.  I defined what growing up really meant.

In April, I had to tell a 6th grader that it’s very rude to fart on other students.  Later, I was certified in wilderness first aid.  Give me some twigs, a ripped up cotton shirt, and I could totally save you out in the wild.  But, finally, as more and more of my friends became engaged or married, I made a proposal to myself:  for a healthy self-image, for self-respect, and to love myself.  Complete with Ring Pop.

I turned 23 in May.  I was still a substitute teacher, but I also started working part-time at a garden center.  But then I was offered an amazing job in Chicago–I accepted.  Most importantly, I decided to stop allowing myself to live a dormant life (if you read any of these links, read this one.  It’s kind of my favorite).

Come June, I was getting ready to move to Lakeview.  Before I left, I made an excellent cake made from sand with a brilliant little girl with Down’s Syndrome.   I made my friend’s bridal bouquet. And then I arrived in the Windy City.  There were new restaurants to discover, cupcakes to enjoy, books to be read by the willow tree, and bloggers to meet.  June made me feel more alive than I had felt in a long time.

As July sneaked its way into the year, I played a seemingly endless game of 20-questions with my new friend.  A little girl told me I tasted like (imaginary) cookies, a man mistook me for Sarah Jessica Parker, and life was pretty amazing.  I fell in love with every single thing about Chicago, and I didn’t want to leave.

But August came, and my summer day camp was over.  I left Chicago with a new sense of hope, but grad school seemed like a terrible disappointment.

September, October, and the first part of November were a blur.  I said good-bye to my phone of 2.5 years.  My grad program was going through eleventy billion adjustments.  When things don’t go as expected at the beginning, I have a pretty sour attitude about it; it was proving no different with grad school.  I did, however, find a guy who liked to help me plan grand adventures.

December was a breath of fresh air; I was offered a new TA position for next semester and my attitude towards grad school shifted for the better.  My blog was still horribly neglected, but I ended the year with a big reminder to myself.

Let’s just say that I’m ready for 2010 to begin.

Responses

  1. Happy New Year! Hope 2010 is great!


Leave a Reply

Categories

