Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | January 11, 2010

2010: Do More

If you’ve followed me around the Internet for a while (or if you know me in real life) you may know by now that I don’t exactly follow “New Year’s Resolutions”.  Resolutions always seem like they are something to be forgotten by the end of January, and I just didn’t want to be one of those people who makes a resolution only to dump it a few weeks into the year.

Instead of creating resolutions, I’ve given myself themes that I try to remember every day as the year goes by.  In 2009, my theme was to (re)discover.  I began the year by ending a relationship, which was a rough thing for me to do.  I was unemployed, newly single, and not entirely sure what I wanted in life.  I had to rediscover what it took to have goals and to find my true happiness.  I had to rediscover me.  But I also found new friends, obtained not just one, but two jobs that really fulfilled my passion in life, and dug up the courage to go to grad school.  In 2009, I walked without a map through my Chicago neighborhood to find really great restaurants.  I would say that 2009 was one of the more fulfilling years I’ve had in a while.  So that gives 2010 a lot to live up to.

What will 2010 bring?  More.  More potential, more challenges, more experiences.  My theme for 2010 is “Do more“.  I don’t have class during the day on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday this coming semester.  That’s a lot of free time to just bum around my apartment and watch TV online, right?  But I won’t let myself do that.  2010 is the year that I will volunteer more often, finish more projects, and try more new recipes.

The year has kicked off with a most excellent beginning.  I welcomed in the year with more love and laughter, as my close friend and I challenged ourselves to smile for five minutes straight (dude, try it.  It burns after about 2.5 minutes).  I watched my very good friend marry the love of her life, and danced with old and new friends.  I finished a game of Monopoly in its entirety for the first time ever with RachelSkirts and her lovely boyfriend.  I also ate way more pancakes than I really needed to (but winning the contest was totally worth it).  I learned how to knit and learned new recipes with my aunt when I traveled to Michigan by myself for the first time ever.  And I went a week without the Internet.  Whoa.

2010 is the year I will finally learn how to crack an egg with just one hand (Sabrina would be so proud).  It’s the year I’ll start a project that I’ve had going on in the back of my mind for over a year now.  In 2010, I’ll substitute teach on the days I don’t have class.  And if I don’t get called in to teach, then I’ll volunteer at the humane society.  2010:  It’s the year I’ll do more.

What will you do in 2010?

Responses

  1. You already know mine… but I’ll share it again.. Eat more cupcakes! 🙂

    2009 was jammed packed, and I’m sooooooooo very glad you were a part of it! 🙂

  2. I think doing more is an awesome attitude for the new year! I want to adopt that as well. I do alot, but I can always do more.

    • Let’s make 2010 the year of More. It’ll be an awfully big adventure.

  3. I ALSO want to learn to crack an egg with one hand!!!

    • Yes! Let’s do it.

  4. […] had a goal for this new year:  Do More. And so far, I have.  I really, really have.  Last weekend I ran 4 miles on my own in preparation […]

  5. […] had a goal for this new year:  Do More. And so far, I have.  I really, really have.  Last weekend I ran 4 miles on my own in preparation […]

  6. […] year, I had finally returned home after a whirlwind introduction to the new year.  As my original blog post from that day […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

