Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | January 25, 2010

Discovering the Magic

My favorite quotation comes from the children’s author Roald Dahl.  It comes from his autobiography and it states,

“…Watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places.  Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.”

I use this quotation in my personal philosophy because it reminds me that there is an opportunity for knowledge, joy, passion, growth, and success—the magic Dahl hints at—in every day life.  Every day presents a new chance to learn and to grow as an individual, but I can also share this magic with others and to help others find the magic within themselves and within their life.

As an educator, I will observe the whole world around me with open eyes and an open heart.  What does our world need?  What do the students that I will be interacting with need?  I will analyze the needs of my surroundings and respond in a way that will improve the world that I’m interacting with.

How will I do this?  I will encourage students to find the magic within them.  I will enforce the fact that every person is unique, talented, and worthy of care and attention.  As an educator, I want to share my love of learning with my students in a safe and respectful environment.  I will use a variety of teaching methods to create a learning atmosphere that allows people to grow and mature as intellectuals, but also to grow physically, emotionally, and socially.

By keeping my mind and heart open to new ideas and different perspectives, I will be able to continue to flourish as an individual and as an educator.   I will always allow room for improvement, and I will keep myself open to change.  I will always keep my eyes open for magic.

***

This was my response for my Foundations in Agriculture and Extension Education course.  We had 30 minutes to create our philosophy.  I feel like it needs a lot of tweaking, but for 30 minutes I think I summed it up quite nicely.

Responses

  1. love it! so inspirational.

  2. um, you came up with this in 30 minutes? I say that’s pretty freakin’ fantastic. I’d love to come to take one of your classes 🙂 I could use a little help finding my magic from time to time.

  3. Lys – Thank you!

    Nora – Come! We’ll play with plants and make pretty things with flowers. : )

  4. Stopping by via Jessica’s blog. I had to admit I really loved your comment about your bottom size. I’m like you, I always wear size 0 sometimes 00 depends on the brand, so I wanted to say “YES!” when I read your comment…

    Anyway, have a lovely night!

  5. You wrote that in half an hour?! Dang, girl. I love it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

