Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | January 31, 2010

Special, Part II

Last weekend one of my very close friends came to campus.

I said, “Hey!  We should hang out!”

He replied, “Lovely, I’d like to take you out on a date.  A real date.”

Gulp.

We’d been friends for a while.  Over three years.  He makes me laugh loud and hard.  He has the patience to try to teach me how to play guitar (even though the whole time I’m just whining about how much it hurts my poor wittle fingers).  He’s silly.  He listens without interrupting.  He is tall and handsome, and I’ve probably told him a bazillionty times that any girl would be lucky to be his girlfriend.  His eyes light up whenever he gets really, really excited.  He’s a St Louis Cardinals fan (YESSSSss).  Most importantly?  He’s a really great friend.

But… a date.  With my friend.  Wouldn’t it be awkward?  Wouldn’t things just be a little weird?

Nope.  In fact, we had a great time.  I laughed.  A lot.  No, really.  A lot.  My cheeks hurt by the end of dinner.

The guy offered his arm while we walked, because he already knew that I swoon over things like that.

He took a big risk last weekend.  I know it took some serious courage to ask me–a girl he’s been friends with for so long–to go out on a date.  And it paid off.

So, hey… I HAVE A BOYFRIEND.  And he is fabulous, you guys.

And he really makes me feel special.

Responses

  1. Look at you!

  2. Yay!!! 🙂

  3. Yay!!! So excited for you 🙂

  4. 🙂

  5. Oh, that’s so fun. And? KUDOS to him… that IS a big deal. But you are worth it, and I’m glad he realized that.

  6. Congratulations!

    Is there any chance I know the lucky guy?

  7. Ooh la la! Friend turned boyfriend is the best combination when it works 🙂

  8. huge smiles right now 🙂

  9. This makes me incredibly happy.
    now come to StL and visit 🙂

  10. You guys are the best. No. Really. The best.

  11. I love this so much! *happydance*

  12. thats awesome news!!! i am swooning

    (and i totally love when you get to hold on to a guys arm too)


Leave a Reply

Categories

