Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | February 26, 2010

Amazing Things

You guys, I am so thrilled to have a guest entry from the lovely Tabitha of ProbablyTabitha.  She is relatable and honest, and holy cow her wedding pictures are adorable.  Her entries make me laugh and I find myself so wrapped up in her life as a newlywed.  I’m so glad that I’ve found her blog. Definitely check her out; you won’t regret it.

Today she describes that whole “what am I going to do with my life” situation that we face as 20-somethings.  And she totally nailed it.
Despite all the uncertainty, we can be certain that amazing things will happen.</end sappy optimism>

* * * *

When LovelyAnomaly put out a call for guest posters on twitter, I jumped at the chance, because umm hi! She’s adorable, and who wouldn’t want to invade hang out in her fabulous little corner of the internet for a day?

Before I get started, I want to point you to Lovely’s “About the Blog” page, because this is exactly the kind of blog that I can’t get enough of. The one that is real, regardless of whether, at any given time, it’s funny or happy or entertaining. She’s real, and that’s why I keep reading.

So today, in keeping with Lovely’s declaration that she will “write what is me,” I want to do the same thing. I want to be real with you. Of course, since this isn’t MY space, I’m inevitably going to try to be real AND fabulously entertaining because a) I want to do Lovely’s blog justice so that you won’t feel like you wasted your time coming here today, and b) I selfishly want you to love me, too, and come over to read my blogsometime. (I told you, I’m being real.)

First things first.

I, like 98% of the 20-something population, have no idea what I want to do with my life. Nevermind the fact that I spent a hundred grand on four years at a private university studying English with the intent to go straight into a teaching credential and Master’s program. It was never what I wanted, but I didn’t allow myself to figure that out until two weeks into said credential program when I realized I HATED it.

So, yeah, I often catch myself feeling like a big loser for wasting so much money and having nothing to show for it. I mean look at me. I’m working as an administrative assistant, where all the other people doing the same job as me are high-school-educated at best, and they make more money than I do. Let’s face it, I’m better than these other admins, and I should be DOING something better.

(Wow, that sounded kind of mean. I’m a really nice person, I promise! Read my blog!)

But the problem is, I don’t know what that “something better” is, or should be, or can be, or whatever. Which is why I’m still here.

Today, though, something happened. And it’s something that made me think, if only for a moment, “I can and WILL do amazing things.” Do you want to know what happened?

I looked to my left.

I know, major revelation, right? Okay, so that’s not the big thing. Here’s the set-up.

I was sitting at my desk at work, doing a mundane and repetitive task (as usual) which involved looking from my computer screen down to a stack of paper which was to the left of my keyboard, back and forth, entering data. See, in this job, I’m always either looking down at the stuff on the surface of my desk, or straight ahead at the screen. The very few photos and pretty things I’ve tacked up on the miniscule amount of “wall” in my cubicle are rarely ever acknowledged by my eyes. So today, when I happened to look to my left — and NOT down — I saw it.

“In dreams and in life, nothing is impossible.”

It was a slip of paper from a fortune cookie, and I must’ve stuck it there months ago. Maybe even a whole year ago. And I am absolutely positive that I didn’t look at it once since the day I put it there, until today. Today, I read that little bit of inspiration, and I thought, “Yes! That’s right. I can do anything I want. Anything I dream. Nothing is impossible.”

Fantastic, right?

Except my next thought was, “So…what’s my dream? What do I want?”

*chirp chirp* (That’s the sound of electronic crickets, symbolizing the very apparent LACK of an answer to those questions.)

People, this is the endless circle that is Tabitha’s Career-Path Contemplations. It’s ridiculous.

But I will hold onto this little fortune, because maybe, just maybe, the act of remembering on a daily basis that I CAN do anything will help me to start discovering what I want and dream of doing.

And maybe that’s all this whole search for purpose is about: knowing that the possibilities are endless.

Responses

  1. You absolutely can do anything. That is a great fortune. I have one that I have held onto for a couple years that says “Your genuine talent will find its way to success.”

    I went on my own roundabout journey through school that led me to where I didn’t want to be, and now I’m climbing out of that and into something that feels right to me even if it hasn’t been the shortest route. Life is about figuring out what works and chalking the rest up to experience. Or something like that. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

