Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | April 8, 2010

Love/Hate

Love:

  • Getting kids excited about nature
  • Being outside
  • Watching kids learn something new
  • Believing in the potential of every student
  • Finding magic in hidden places (thanks, Roald Dahl)
  • Learning
  • Experimenting
  • Asking questions

Hate:

  • Being told that I’m wrong with very little feedback
  • Being told not to ask questions
  • Being shot down

This program is hurting me down to the core, and I’m not sure I can make it until May 16th (let alone May 2011).  This sucks.  A lot.

What would you do if you were in a situation that shot down your philosophy on learning and life?  Would you stick it out?

Responses

  1. That is a tough question. Intuitively I want to say NO! GET OUT OF THERE!, but part of me is, sadly/honestly, on the “you’re almost there; so little time in the grand scheme of things” boat (only because of giving myself that “pep” talk in grad school last year). Best of luck figuring things out. Those “hates” are definitely NOT okay.

    P.S. Love Roald Dahl.

  2. Your loves make you awesome. Make sure that if you continue to put up with the hates that they are going to get you to your goal so you can do what you love. If not…give ’em the boot! My humble opinion at least 🙂

  3. 😦 i wish i could offer some advice. last time i had that “running up against a wall of suck” feeling, the decision was made for me. *hugs* if you decide to tough it out, at least you can do/think what you want without the obstinance from others after you finish the degree

  4. I am sorry. I know how badly it sucks to feel like you’re banging your head against the wall on a repeated basis. Can you take a step back and away from the situation and look at all your options? I’d hate to see you leave the program but at the same time, I truly believe in following your happiness and if you’re not happy, then you deserve to be.

    Email me if you need/want to talk more about it.

  5. you are amazing, and awesome.

    I know it’s really hard, but I know you can survive this last month.

    the last year might not be for you. but in finishing the last month, it’ll make it easier to go somewhere else if necessary. it’ll show strength in character that 1) you know when something’s good for you and when something isn’t, but you also 2) don’t waste your time and money (or their time, as well). It takes a lot of courage to leave a program. But I know in your heart, you can make it through this month.

    And then you can come to chicago, sit by the lake, eat a lot of cupcakes… and think about the next step. 🙂

    *HUGS*

  6. I have no advice for you, unfortunately. All I can say is that you are in my prayers.

  7. I really wish that I (or anyone who has posted) could tell you what you should do. Wouldn’t it be so much easier? I sounds to me like you need to take a trip up to the ‘burbs to visit your good friend Rasinet. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

