Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | April 20, 2010

Grad school woes #322

I woke up to my alarm at 6:22am (I like setting my alarm to seemingly random times. and even numbers) feeling determined to get shit done.

But I was le tired. So I shut off the alarm and nuzzled back under the blankets “for just a few more minutes, I swear”.

7am rolled around and I awoke to the sound of the bell tower off in the distance. And I was grumpy. I overslept and now I was further behind on my work.

Days like today make me say “Dangit” and make me all grumpy and I have to clip my bangs back in a bobbie pin because I just. can’t. handle. the bangs in my eyes and I resort to run-on sentences even though the run-on sentences in my student’s essays kill me, not to mention the misused homophones. So to keep myself awake while grading these papers I have to drink Dr Pepper. And then I drink too much soda and my left eye gets all twitchy and while my left eye is twitching I remember that I have a meeting at 4 this afternoon and a paper that’s due by midnight tonight and I just get so overwhelmed with the life of graduate school that I think I might need another soda. But then I remember that my eye is twitching from too much soda and I put away the can of Dr Pepper and return to my computer to start looking up data for my paper.

And then I have to take a big deep breath and count to five.

And it will be okay.

And it will be okay.

And I will be okay.

Responses

  1. I know exactly how you feel in this post. Nothing will kill your will to live quite like grad school.

  2. Sending a big hug your way. I’m sorry you’re having “one of those” days. Hope that tomorrow is lots better for you!

  3. 1) *HUGS*
    2) *CUPCAKES*
    3) I too set my alarm for random times. Odd numbers though.
    4) *HUGS*

  4. I hated those days, too. I love sleeping in oh-so-much, but then you feel like you wasted 2 hours o’ productivity that could’ve helped your overall sanity. Blah. Hang in there—you definitely will be okay!

  5. You’re correct: You will be OK.

    Looking forward to talking and catching up this weekend. Hopefully I can help you get the stress of grad school off your mind for a little bit.

    Oh, and my alarm is set for 5:23am. And my clock is set 8 minutes fast. Yeah.

  6. yuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuck. your story strikes fear into my immediately-pre-grad-school heart. Good luck and you WILL be ok. You will. It will be fine. We both will! I’m rambling because I’m nervous. Sorry.


Leave a Reply

Categories

