Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | June 26, 2010

Weight. Stop. Love.

I am 5’8″ and I weigh 132 pounds.  In fact, those last twelve pounds of my weight have been gained in the last three months.  It’s the heaviest I have ever weighed before.

I eat like a squirrel.  Or perhaps like a hobbit.  I like breakfast, second breakfast, lunch, snack, dinner, and dessert.  I have always been this way.  I was born as a little baby, grew up as a little toddler, and stayed a skinny, awkward teenager.

As a teenager and 20-something, I have fought back comments about being anorexic and bulimic.  I am used to whispered comments.  She is so skinny.  Wow, she’s tiny. Do you think she’s anorexic?  How does she do it?

But it still hurts me when people say, “You’re so skinny.  You probably never have to worry about what you eat.”  “You’re so tiny.  You should have another sandwich.  You need to eat more.”  

I understand that weight is a touchy subject.

I don’t think people understand that there are two ends to this spectrum

Yes, the media idolizes the thin and the beautiful.  But let’s push that aside for a moment.

Tonight at a party, someone said, “People who are size zero should die.”

I said, “But… I’m a size zero.”

No response.  No apology.  Nothing.

I sat in shock for a while, but finally had to retreat to my room to prevent myself from spewing all sorts of word vomit upon this girl.

There is so much hate within this weight issue.  And it needs to stop.  Now.

Look within.  Love yourself.  Accept yourself.  Respect yourself.  Respect others.

Those last two are the rules that I give to my 3rd and 4th graders.  Why can’t it be the same in the real world?  Why do these morals get lost along the way?  Why does there have to be so much hate and jealousy?

We are all beautiful and wonderful.  I wish we could open our eyes to see how amazing we all are.  We need to stop tearing one another down and start supporting one another.

Let’s stop perpetuating hate.  Instead, let’s start spreading a message of acceptance.  Of uniqueness.  Of love.

Please join me.

Responses

  1. Awhile back I blogged about a passage in a book that captured the battle women have against each other and against themselves.

    http://notesfromthecouch.blogspot.com/2009/03/redbirds-odd-parallel-to-patients-i-see.html

    In case the link doesn’t format, here is the most poignant few lines:

    “I watched one of the birds attack its own reflection in the side mirror of a truck. It hurled its body again and again against that unyielding image, until it pecked a crack in the glass, until the whole mirror was smeared with blood. It was as if the bird hated what it saw there, and discovered too late that all it was seeing was itself.”

  2. 😦 Some people need to learn that yes, what they said was offensive, and yes someone in the room was offended, and yes, they should apologize.

    Of course the comment was made out of envy, likely by someone who feels they could never fit in a size zero. but what’s the big gripe over. I know a few people that wear 0s and they bitch non-stop about never being able to find clothes, or having to special order everything. But it’s not really about that.

    If it were me, I would have likely lost my temper shortly after they didn’t apologize and just point to the door while calmly saying “out”.

    Lovely blog. I hope all is well! Haven’t seen you in forever!

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by 20sb, Erica. Erica said: {Posted} Weight. Stop. Love. http://wp.me/p875o-fC […]

  4. I will join you. This is beautiful. One of my life goals is to not judge others, and while challenging, I think it’s well worth it.

    Weight can be so touchy, esp among women. I think that everyone should try to be more aware of the negativity thrown around even in jest.

    The older I get, the more comfortable I feel in my skin. And I think it will just keep getting better.

  5. What a horrible comment 😦 Well said…there are certainly 2 ends of the spectrum.

  6. I think such a hyperbolic statement should probably not be given this much validation.

    However, I do think it is interesting that had a person said, “People who are overweight should die,” they would have been lambasted and ostracized from the group. It’s as if us ‘skinny’ people are supposed tip-toe around the feelings of the overweight, but grin and bear it when it comes to criticism and attacks on our own weight. It’s definitely a weird double-standard that I don’t understand.

  7. Death shouldn’t be wished on anyone no matter who or what they are.

    Count me in on Team Support.

  8. I hate how narrow-minded people are. I’m fairly skinny, and get sooo annoyed when people are like, “why do you spend so much time working out? You don’t need to.”

    Actually yes I do. This is why:
    1. It keeps me this size if you’re only commenting on how many inches around my waist is.
    2. It keeps you healthy and fit from the inside out.
    3. I love it. Just because I’m skinny doesn’t mean I should be deprived of an activity I love.

    I know comments like that often stem out of jealousy or not understanding. But that doesn’t make them any more appropriate or less hurtful.

    That was a crap move on their behalf. Blah!


Leave a Reply

Categories

