Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | July 18, 2010

Countdowns

A quick hug and a kiss outside the metra station and then I had to take my suitcase and bouquet of flowers with me in the opposite direction of where he was going.

The homeless man on the Monroe St. bridge said to me, “Pretty flowers.  Someone must really love you.”

On the train, I became that cliché.  The girl who sits alone in the train car with her suitcase next to her and her head leaning against the window.  I stared out to the buildings, but in my mind I was seeing flashbacks of the weekend.

Dancing.  Giggling.  Eating too much wedding food.  Secretly gripping our hands just a little tighter during the wedding vows.  Being with my very best friend.

I didn’t let myself cry until I got into my bedroom.

25 days until I see him again.

Long-distance relationships are simply a series of countdowns followed by moments of bliss that go by far too quickly.

Responses

  1. So so true. It is hard at times but makes the moments you are together so much sweeter.

  2. You are absolutely right. I dated my current boyfriend for 1 1/2 years before he moved to Chicago. The only thing that got us through it was knowing that he’d be moving here and we wouldn’t have to travel back and forth forever.

  3. i LOVE that last line…

    did a long distance for four years…still don’t regret it.

  4. I haven’t had a single serious relationship that wasn’t long-distance (at some point) in my adult life. This last one turned out pretty okay. Sometimes they’re worth it. 😉

  5. So sweet. As always. Yay for dancing and giggling!

  6. so true. and so sad 😦 this makes me miss my boy that much more


Leave a Reply

Categories

