Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | August 31, 2010

Every Day Love

I’m starting a new project.

You see, the word “love” is thrown around too often these days.

Bianca:  There’s a difference between like and love. Because, I like my Skechers, but I love my Prada backpack.
Chastity: But I love my Skechers.
Bianca:  That’s because you don’t have a Prada backpack.

People love their $1 double cheeseburgers and their new laptops.  People love that new movie that just came out, and people love going shopping.

I’m guilty of it, too.  It’s right here on my own blog:

Loves: plants, stars, cloudy days, Chicago, and hot tea.

I think we’re forgetting what love really is.  And we don’t really see it when it’s right in front of us.

So I’m starting a project called Everyday Love.  I’m going to write down where I’ve seen love–real love–in every day life.  Because love is out there.  Every day.  And it’s time to start noticing it.

* * * * * * * * * *

Today it was a gross 92 degrees outside and I was trying to walk as quickly and as comfortably as possible to get my groceries and my gallon of milk home to the fridge.  I saw a woman with her child in a stroller headed in my direction.  Of course, it’s not surprising to see this in my neighborhood, but this woman did something that I haven’t seen any other parent do.

As she approached the alley behind my apartment building, the woman stopped the stroller and stepped out towards the front of the alley to check for traffic.  Once she saw that there were no oncoming vehicles, she stepped back to her stroller and kept on walking.  Rather than just risking it and continuing forward through the alley’s intersection, this mother took the extra five seconds to check for traffic.

That’s love.

Responses

  1. So, I want to say I LOVE this idea 🙂 It’s so good to slow down sometimes and really observe love especially when you least expect it.

  2. This is a great idea for a great project!


Leave a Reply

Categories

