Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | December 1, 2010

Reverb 10.1: One Word

Oh.  Oh, God.  I’m going to participate in a blog challenge that wants me to post every. single. day.  DID YOU NOT NOTICE that I only blogged THREE TIMES for the entire month of November?!  While everyone else was hopping around, sporting their #NaBloPoMo tags like Girl/Boy Scouts with new badges for their sashes, I cowered in the corner just trying to come up with the energy to read all those posts, let alone muster the creativity to write my own entry.

BUT.  I have had this lovely blog for over three years now, and I am ready to get it some lovin’.  So, here goes.

Reverb 10 is an annual event and online initiative to reflect on your year and manifest what’s next. The end of the year is an opportunity to reflect on what’s happened, and to send out reverberations for the year ahead. With Reverb 10, we’ll do both.

* * *

December 1 One Word.
Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?
(Author: Gwen Bell)

On January 11th of this year, I had finally returned home after a whirlwind introduction to the new year.  As my original blog post from that day stated,

I welcomed in the year with more love and laughter, as my close friend and I challenged ourselves to smile for five minutes straight (dude, try it.  It burns after about 2.5 minutes).  I watched my very good friend marry the love of her life, and danced with old and new friends.  I finished a game of Monopoly in its entirety for the first time ever with RachelSkirts and her lovely boyfriend.  I also ate way more pancakes than I really needed to (but winning the contest was totally worth it).  I learned how to knit and learned new recipes with my aunt when I traveled to Michigan by myself for the first time ever.  And I went a week without the Internet.  Whoa.

In that same blog post, I had challenged myself for the upcoming year to do more.  I wanted myself to try new recipes, finish more projects, and volunteer more often.  I wanted it to be a year of more.

Looking back on 2010, I feel comfortable saying that more sums up that year.

I had struggles throughout graduate school, but I had more determination and more guts to go after my dream than to sit through a master’s program that tried to sink my soul.

I found that I could love a person more fully and more truly than I ever have in the past, and I worried less and less about if it would end or if it would fail.

During my unemployment, I had far too much free time, but I found more of myself.  I volunteered every week at a nature center and I tried more new recipes.  I learned how to make less become more as I kept myself to a strict budget.

And as I wait for my new job to begin (MONDAY MONDAY MONDAY!), I find that I am filled with more hope, more gratitude, more love, and more joy than I have ever felt in my lifetime.  Gross, right?

With 2011 around the corner, I wonder, what could possibly be next?  I’ve decided that 2011 will be my year to shine.

I will shine for the students who I will be teaching for in the city.  I can be their inspiration, their spark for motivation.

“Before whom the stars at their posts shine and rejoice;
When He calls them, they answer, “Here we are!” shining with joy for their Maker.
Such is our God; no other is to be compared to him”  — Baruch 3:34-36

I will continue to be the reflection of God’s light in the darkness.

I will shine.

Responses

  1. You will shine! I just know it. I am glad that you start your new job on Monday, I can’t wait to hear all about it.

  2. good luck fellow reverb-er! I think “shine” is a wonderful meditation.

  3. Wow. I guess because I’m a protestant, I didn’t expect to see a verse from Baruch. Interesting.

    In any event, I hope this new job opens up a lot of new and exciting experiences for you. Like I posted the other day, they’ll be with you forever.

    • Baruch is my favorite and I am actually really sad that it is a Septuagint. People are missing out, yo.

  4. […] After a few years of talk but no action, my close friend finally persuaded me to register for a half-marathon.  We registered simultaneously over the phone, and after we had clicked “Submit” we both let out sighs.  And then immediately questioned if we were crazy.  Maybe, but we were also determined.  It was, after all, the year of more. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

