Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | December 4, 2010

Reverb10.4 – Wonder

I’m participating in Reverb10 this December.  Join in here.

December 4 – Wonder. How did you cultivate a sense of wonder in your life this year? (Author: Jeffrey Davis)

I think it has always been my nature to cultivate a sense of wonder in everything I do.  It stems from my life motto, taken from the autobiography of one of my heros, Roald Dahl.  I’ve quoted it here before, but I’ll state it again:

And as always, watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places. Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.

Cultivating a sense of wonder is my passion.  It’s what I did this summer when I worked at the zoo and encouraged my campers to ask the questions that were bubbling in their brains.  It’s why I created lesson plans that allowed my campers to get their hands messy or see what it’s like to touch a snake.  I cultivate the whys and the hows and the whats every day.  And I strive to let the children discover those answers.  To discover the magic in every day life.

I embraced my sense of wonder when I was trained to handle the fox snakes, salamanders, and walking sticks at the nature museum.  And as I overcame my hesitation of holding a live snake, I brought that sense of wonder to the visitors when I volunteered.  Cultivating a sense of wonder is what I will be doing again on Monday, when I start my first full-time job as a science outreach educator.

Magic is there, my friends.  Every day.  It’s in the process of mixing corn starch with water.  It was there as I took an origami boat around campus in the middle of winter.  It was there as I fed a giraffe a leaf of lettuce this summer.  And it’s there as I watch the snow fall outside the window.

I encourage you to open your eyes and your heart to find the magic, too.

Responses

  1. OH what a great Roald Dahl quote!! Going to go and put that in my journal for today… THANKS!

  2. what’s the name of the autobiography? I’m going to add that to my book list.

    Also, I hope your new job is everything you’re hoping. It sounds like it’s going to be pretty great.

    • I know I told you online, but I wanted others to see the answer, in case they wondered, too. The book is “Boy: Tales of Childhood”. A great, hilarious read. As to be expected by Mr. Dahl.

  3. This is a lovely way to live. It’ll open a lot of doors for you. Windows, too, I’d bet.

  4. Good luck tomorrow on your first day! I’ll be thinking about you and sending you good vibes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

