Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | December 5, 2010

Reverb10.5 – Let Go

I’m sharing my reflections on 2010 through the project reverb10.  If you’d like to join or hear more, click on over to their website.

December 5 – Let Go. What (or whom) did you let go of this year? Why? (Author: Alice Bradley)

“I think you have this secret talent to teach in a classroom,” my advisor said.  “I just think that you would be better in a classroom.  Those other jobs are always grant-funded and they just don’t pay very well.”

I blinked.  And then I merely thanked him for his suggestions.

Secret talent.  Those two words lingered in my mind for weeks.  Did I?  Is that what I was supposed to be discovering in this master’s program?  My secret talent?

No.  It couldn’t be.  I knew know my passion towards non-formal education.  I know that my dream is to be inspiring young learners, not to be in high school setting.  I am not meant to be confined within the four walls of one singular classroom day in and day out.  That is not my passion.  That is not my secret talent.

The Plan was to obtain my Master’s degree in education.  But this plan wasn’t supposed to cause so much heartache and disappointment.  Graduate school is supposed to be a place where you go because you have Big Ideas and people support those Big Ideas and turn them into thesis papers, research projects, and so on.  But this program wasn’t supplying that.

As the courses continued, I was assigned more high school level lesson plans and offered less and less flexibility with non-formal options.  It was the most frustrating feeling I had ever felt.

Was I supposed to just “stick with it” for another year?  The mere idea of that twisted my stomach into knots.  I didn’t want to be stuck in that program.  There had to be an alternative.  That path was not the only way towards my dream, and I knew it.

So on April 30th, I wrote a letter that was months in the making.  I officially withdrew from my graduate program.

Although there were bumps and thorns along this route that I chose for myself, I knew that I was headed in the right direction.  I knew it would lead me to where my dreams and my heart were meant to be.

Responses

  1. Such a fine line between driving your dreams and letting them happen. It’s the courageous act of letting go that let’s you walk the tightrope with such grace.

    Best of luck to you — I have the suspicion that you will find a way to impact the education, precisely because the system failed you. I have to imagine you’ve seen Sir Ken Robinson’s videos on TED. If not, go watch them. They’re inspiring. Like your post.

  2. Withdrawing from your Masters program took an incredible amount of courage. I’m glad that you’ve let that go for bigger and better things! Always follow YOUR dream not what someone else things your dream should be.

  3. I’m glad you’re posting more often. It’s great to hear (read) more from you.

  4. I’m glad you were able to leave the suffocating program behind to find something that better fit you.

    Our formal education system is horribly broken. It’s run by a group of people trying desperately to cling to the outdated vanguards of what education is “supposed to be.” And it just doesn’t work.

    As MDTaz said, you should go watch the Sir Ken Robinson TED talks. And you should read books by James Paul Gee. And you should write books about specialized education. Something’s got to give, and pushing people through graduate programs that are an ill fit is not the solution.

  5. Ugh, making those decisionsn can be so tough but I’m so glad that you did what YOU needed to do. Sometimes choosing NOT to do something is just as powerful as choosing to do something. <3.


Leave a Reply

Categories

