Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | December 6, 2010

Reverb10.6 – Make

I’m sharing my reflections on 2010 through the project reverb10.  If you’d like to join or hear more, click on over to their website.

December 6Make. What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make, but you need to clear some time for it? (Author: Gretchen Rubin)

I love this question because make has so many interpretations and meanings.  The list of synonyms is almost daunting: build, fabricate, construct, develop, produce…the list continues.  The first definition on its own is striking:

form (something) by putting parts together or combining substances;construct; create

When I am teaching, I like to think that I make an impact.  I make a connection that a child may not have noticed before.  We make messes, we make up silly stories, we make cakes out of sand.  I take a notebook, a wolf’s paw print, a rabbit skull, and some fake ants and make up a murder mystery for my campers.   And my campers?  They form a solution to that mystery.  We make memories, we make friendships, and we make an impact on each other’s lives.  I use every resource available to make a difference.

As a girl who is a kinesthetic learner, I make dinner to keep myself busy.  I make up dance moves to my favorite songs.  I make paper snowflakes to decorate my apartment.  I make blankets out of my boyfriend’s old Tshirts, and I make my own necklaces when I have the materials.

I want to make a bigger impact in the world, but I’m okay with making an impact in the life of one child at a time.

Responses

  1. I kinda wish I was much younger and living in Chicago. I would love to learn from you. It seems like you are an excellent teacher. Both in skill and in passion.

    • D’aww, shucks. 🙂

  2. You MAKE me smile. All the time. Love you. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

