Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | December 7, 2010

Reverb10.7 – Community

December 7 – Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011? (Author: Cali Harris)

Not gonna lie you guys, I’m a week into this and I’m already feeling the “I don’t wanna!”s when it comes to posting.  It could be because I am tired from the OMG-too-excited-to-sleep-but-now-I-have-to-wake-up-at-6:45am ordeal.  Yeah.  That’s probably it.

Anyway.

Community.

I found a sense of community at graduate school, but it wasn’t one I particularly enjoyed.  There was only one other graduate student in my degree, and she adored the program.  We got along perfectly fine, and I actually think she’s one of the sweetest girls I’ve ever met, but it was awfully difficult to relate to her when I was feeling so crummy about the degree program.

After leaving graduate school and the security blanket of the campus church, I had to find my next Catholic home.  While I have found a church that I really enjoy, I am still feeling like an outsider when I attend mass.  It’s no one’s fault in particular, because it is awfully awkward to try to strike up conversation with someone after mass–they are usually ready to head back home, or out to enjoy their Sunday.  So even though I adore my new church, I am still waiting to have a support group of Catholic friends.  It’ll happen with time and a little more effort on my part.

In 2011, I will be making a huge connection with the communities in and around Chicago.  I’ll be going out to those schools for presentations and after school events, so I am ready to learn about these communities and the people who live there.  It will be a challenge, and–I won’t lie–a little intimidating to be out in south Chicago neighborhoods.  I know that I will be making a difference, so I am thrilled for that opportunity.

As far as life outside of work in 2011?  It’ll be nice to start making some friends with people who live in the city.  Many of my college friends are in the suburbs, so we can’t exactly make last-minute plans.  I’d like to have a few more friends in the city who I can call on a whim to go out on the town.

This post was inspired by a prompt through the annual project reverb10.  Reverb10 challenges you to reflect on 2010 and manifest on what is about to come in 2011.  If you’d like to join or hear more, click on over to their website.

Responses

  1. I’m so excited for the new communities brewing for you! As for hanging in there for all the posts, you can see how I’m dealing with that one. Length. Hahaha.

    • Ahahaha. You’re just being…concise. 😉

  2. Best of luck finding friends in the city. That’s my wife’s and my biggest frustration right now. We don’t really have any friends, and it’s hard to make any since we spend so much time at work.


Leave a Reply

Categories

