Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | December 8, 2010

Reverb10.8 – Beautifully Different

December 8 – Beautifully Different. Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful. (Author: Karen Walrond)

Oh, barf.

The moment I read today’s post, I wrinkled my nose and let out a sigh of disappointment.

We’re all beautiful little snowflakes! So individual and unique and special and stuff!

I get it.

But are we really that different from one another?  If we were all so different, we’d have an awfully hard time finding friends and connecting with people.

But, yeah, I get it.  I even prance around the Internet stating that I’m a bit of a lovely anomaly.

Statistically, I am a genetic freak.  Red hair.  Blue eyes.  Attached earlobes.  [Former] Heart condition.

I prefer a clean room and a made bed versus a messy room.  I’m a girl who see-saws between being an introvert and being an extrovert.  I’m right-brain dominant.  So on and so forth.

But you know what?

I am greater than the sum of my parts.

That’s what makes me beautiful.

Responses

  1. Hahahaha, I’m so glad someone had the guts to say what some of us were thinking (“Oh, barf.”)!

  2. “We’re all beautiful little snowflakes!”

    Yep! Snowflakes! Pretty in large numbers, but short lived individually! This is an analogy I’ve always thought was a bit silly.

    Anyway, you’re exactly right. We’re not the sum of our parts. We’re the sum of our lives. Genetics play a small part. Our experiences and our interpretations and internalization of those experiences are really what make us who we are.

  3. super like. even though I don’t know you, you are, hands down, beautiful 🙂

  4. Hahaha, I totally had the same reaction! I was like, aw hell, really?

    Also, I really love your answer.

  5. Looks like we’re on the same page! 🙂

  6. Not only is your response on the same line as my own, I love it for being so concise and upfront. YES.

  7. Thank you for the support! ❤ You people are lovely.

  8. Barf. Well put. I had the same reaction. But then I started freewriting on the prompt in my journal and it took me to some interesting territory. It was kind of a gift to got there. And it felt way to personal to post. Or I’m too modest. Or it just was a work-in-progress.

    But anyway thanks for the big barf — it made me laugh out loud and as other comments above confirm, you weren’t alone.

  9. Love that.


Leave a Reply

Categories

