Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | December 11, 2010

Reverb10.11 – Eleven Things

Who would have ever predicted that a new job and a 5-day visit from C would ever interfere with a blogging challenge?  Of course you did.  Of course I did.  I was too busy being surrounded by love to prioritize blogging over time spent with C.  The attempt to catch up begins…. now.

December 11 – 11 Things. What are 11 things your life doesn’t need in 2011? How will you go about eliminating them? How will getting rid of these 11 things change your life? (Author: Sam Davidson)

These are in no particular order:

  1. Lake Shore Drive traffic jams.  Seriously.
  2. Financial insecurity.
  3. Desktop clutter
  4. Silly bandz
  5. Old assignments/projects from college.  If I haven’t referenced them since 2008, do I still need them?
  6. Clothes that are still at my parents’ house.
  7. Those eleventy dozen pairs of Old Navy flip-flops
  8. Doubt, when it comes to my new job.
  9. Strep throat
  10. Cold feet/legs
  11. Time away from friends

How will I eliminate these things?

  1. Inventing a hover craft in my spare time, duh.
  2. Living the same lifestyle I had while on unemployment and putting that big, tempting paycheck towards credit card debt and student loans.
  3. Ignore #2 for just a moment, and go buy myself a bookcase and some sort of filing system.  I have papers and books that have wanted a home for months, but they just haven’t been able to go there yet.
  4. I’m sorry.  I did the Silly Bandz thing this summer to be the Coolest Camp Counselor Ever, but now I just see those plastic bands all over the sidewalks and parks.  How about I solve this with awareness?  Or I could invent another amazing child fad.  I’m good at inventing; refer to #1.
  5. Delete, delete, delete.  And recycling.  And will-power to ignore my hoarding tendencies.
  6. Will-power and a big trash bag (to take to Goodwill, of course).
  7. Flip-flops give me blisters.  Flats are pretty and comfy.  Just throw them away, girl.
  8. Patience.  Courage.  Believing in myself.  My voice–don’t be afraid to use it.
  9. More antibiotics!
  10. Eddie Bauer wool socks, I’m coming for you.
  11. A full tank of gas, a GPS system, and a little bit of planning.

The Change can mostly be summed up in “peace of mind”.  No longer worrying about credit card bills, student loan payments, or the like will be a huge burden taken off my shoulder.  By not stressing about the clothes that are still taking up space in my parents’ house, I won’t feel quite so guilty whenever I visit them.  If Silly Bandz are gone, I won’t have those terrible thoughts of wildlife stuck in or choking on those ridiculous plastic accessories.  Warm, cozy feet is the catalyst for comfort.  And time spent with friends is always welcome.

I’m still gonna hold out for that hover car.

Leave a Reply

Categories

