Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | December 20, 2010

Reverb10.20 – Beyond Avoidance

December 20 – Beyond Avoidance. What should you have done this year but didn’t because you were too scared, worried, unsure, busy or otherwise deterred from doing? (Bonus: Will you do it?) (Author: Jake Nickell)

This year I did a lot of things that took me out of my comfort zone.  I said yes to dating a guy I had been friends with for three years.  I gathered up the guts and clung to my instincts in order to withdraw from graduate school.  But there was one thing I twiddled my thumbs at, but shouldn’t have.

I avoided going on unemployment for too long.  I was too proud and too arrogant to think that I would need it.  For every job I had ever applied to, I was interviewed for and hired to do.  Because of that luck, I believed that I would have no problem finding a job after summer camp.  I am a good, hard worker.  I’m creative, enthusiastic, and driven to do well. Yep.  And so are those 200 other people applying for the same jobs I had applied for.  It was a terrible mindset, and it was going to put me in a terribly tough situation if I hadn’t snapped out of it.

I did snap out of it, a month into unemployment.  It became clear that there was no immediate sign of a new job, and I realized that the money in my bank account wasn’t going to last forever if I didn’t do something.

I am so incredibly lucky that things have come together so nicely in the end.  The money from unemployment hardly covered anything; it just kept me afloat.  I’m ready to stop floating and start paying off the credit card bills and, for once, student loans.

What have you avoided this year?

Responses

  1. When I finally got a job, paying off credit cards was my number one priority. It’s hard to do, and it’ll take longer than you want it to, but get yourself through those, and you’ll be in good shape.


Leave a Reply

Categories

