Posted by: LovelyAnomaly | January 24, 2011

Gifts from the Heart

My friend’s bridal shower happened right in the midst of my so-unemployed-it-hurts-my-wallet-just-thinking-about-groceries ordeal.  I know that she understood how limited my funds were, so arriving without a gift would not have bothered my friend at all.  But I just couldn’t do it.  I wanted to shower my two friends with something they could use as they begin their new journey together.

So I spent a few dollars on a set of recipe cards.  And then I filled out about ten or fifteen (I don’t remember now) of those cards with my favorite recipes.  My right hand was sore from all that writing, and it was probably noticeable on some of the recipe cards.  While I wrote out the recipes, I envisioned my two friends as happy newlyweds busy in the kitchen, testing out the recipes I was giving them.

While others at the bridal shower provided my friend with sets of Pyrex and other lovely kitchen products, I started to shift in my seat.  Money doesn’t matter, I tried to remind myself over and over.  Money doesn’t matter.

My friend opened my gift, and she loved it.  Others in the room complimented my time and dedication.  I let out a sigh of relief.

Tonight, her husband sent me a text:

We ate shepherd’s pie tonight.  The one from your recipes.  It was super tasty.  Thank you.

My heart swelled and a smile grew upon my face.

What sort of gifts have you given from the heart lately?

Responses

  1. This is wonderful. Any chance I could get the recipe? 🙂

  2. that’s super awesome; i love giving out recipes as gifts 🙂 I should post them on my blog more often!

  3. thoughtful gifts are the best. seriously.

    mine was much more simple: i knitted a friend a very cute hat with some yarn i found that reminded me of her. it was her 21st birthday, and while i definitely bought her a drink, too, i wanted to do more than just take her out and get her sloshed. she’ll have plenty of time to do that. 🙂 she loved it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

